The New Workstation

in #life8 years ago

Yesterday


I decided to check my bank in case on the off chance the Gemeentehuis had fixed everything and the DWI was going forward with it... Well something was already done anyway.

This is my shiny new/old Sony Vaio SVE1113M1EW, it has 750GB hard drive, quad core E2 1.7ghz AMD APU with some kind of AMD video card built into the CPU, the screen is 1366x768, and 4Gb of ram installed.

It was fairly horrible at first with the factory windows 8 installation on it, I think it was out of date or some such, but I downloaded an Ubuntu ISO to my phone and using an android app called 'diskdroid' I installed Ubuntu Gnome 16.04.1, and I am in the process of getting it set up for the various tasks I intend to do with it.

The keyboard is nice as in it is not likely to break like the older style ones that can get such big bits of crap between the keys. But it takes a bit of pushing to get them to register and the smooth surface and fingernails seems to make it hard for me to hit a few letters but I'll see how that goes after I trim my nails. It always takes a little bit to adjust to a new keyboard when it's small especially. The layout on this one is nice at least, not as dumb as some I have seen in this size.

It seems to be running pretty good and steemit.com runs pretty good on it too. I have to get some more bits and pieces together for C/Glib/Gtk+ coding and for working with python/kivy but I am already good to go with writing articles anyway.

😎

We can't stop here! This is Whale country!

Sort:  

Wooot! Congratulations. So far my poking around to find a free computer didn't bring up anything, so Im glad you now have a good machine.

Good to see. So, is this the beginning of a regular payment?

Yes. So I have no excuse not to get busy!

Awesome glad to see your still with us ! 😉👍

congrats on getting your computer back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56677.48
ETH 2329.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36