Teh Tablet, and Teh Bank

in #life8 years ago

Sadly,


and I kinda knew it would be a waste, the tablet is useless. I thought I bricked it but rather the google refused to work when I integrated google play services into the firmware.

But the issue that prompted me to tinker with it so much was on many WiFi networks it works a minute or so, then remains connected but everything times out and the best guess from forcing google public DNS addresses into configuration made the network remain functional, except then something switched back to the DHCP DNS.

Well, it was upsetting me so much I dumped it in its box with receipt somewhere I just could not stand to see this bastid thing ever again.

Teh Bank

Nothing, absolutely nothing whatsoever at all with banks in the Netherlands is straightforward. The DWI (dutch welfare agency) guy told me it would be simple to go into the bank and get a required 3 months statement from my bank.

First I had to change the address on the account. They only issue these statements by post. You can only get a login for internet banking with ING through the post. They kept asking me first if I had internet banking 😣 as though I would be asking in the branch if I had internet banking.

I was quite beside myself at this point with that blasted mistake of a tablet. I have been far too many times in the last couple of weeks with tears welling up. If you wondered why I haven't been writing much lately, the stress of all this situation is sucking the life out of me.

I have to go see the DWI tomorrow to make sure I am doing this all correctly and that I may not have the statement by the 27th because of how the bank does things.

I am pretty sure I will not get any payments until 25 January, however.

Honestly I don't know how I am going to cope with all this. I don't want to spend this money now anyway, I want to save it so I can set up somewhere. Watching myself waste 70 euros on that bleeding tablet is very unpleasant and I want this shit to work out for once.

😫


We can't stop here! This is Whale country!


https://steemit.com/@l0k1

Loki was born in Australia, now is wandering Amsterdam again after 9 months in Sofia, Bulgaria. IT generalist, physics theorist, futurist and cyber-agorist.

Loki's life mission is to establish a secure, distributed layer atop the internet, and enable space migration, preferably while living in a beautiful mountain house somewhere with a good woman, and lots of farm animals and gardens, where he can also go hunting and camping.

*"I'm a thoughtocaster, a conundrummer in a band called Life Puzzler. I've flipped more lids than a monkey in a soup kitchen, of the mind."*
- Xavier, Renegade Angel

All images in the above post are either original from me, or taken from Google Image Search, filtered for the right of reuse and modification, and either hotlinked directly, or altered by me.

Sort:  

I pledged I won't buy again any phone or tab that is not available on xda. It's not like I have money for any of them soon...

Banks sucks! We are waiting for the day when the govs' offices transfer money on Steem (with no transfer fees for banks spent from tax money unnecessarily).

yeah I was going to spend €10 more on a lenovo a8, I should have just walked away 😀 when the guy said they had none.

When I get paid I will get a BV6000, the one I posted about a couple of weeks ago. In this lifestyle rugged phones are the best. I accidentally bought a motorola defy a couple years ago only had to replace it becauseit got stolen. In Sofia I bought an Xcover 1. This m2 aqua was doing well but I should have got it a case.

ah well.

The time will come when crypto becomes common on the street. Then, good luck to anyone trying to tax us!

I'm afraid they would find a way with their endless tools to get paid.
Maybe there will be no (classical) government then... ;)

I've checked, a Lenovo A8 with 16 GB is around €129 in Hungary. The BV6000 is ~ €242. It's not the best place to buy hardwares. :D But I've heard from one of my friends that phones and tablets are cheap in Netherlands.

Not really that cheap. Or, at least, there is a huge second hand market there. New stuff costs about the same. It is better to buy direct from china. The BV6000 can be bought from a hong kong website for 200 euro. I paid about 10% less on second hand in Sofia, and I am sure some gsm shop in Budapest would fix my cracked screen a lot cheaper.

Please check out rocket.chat. Or what is the best way to contact you?

You can fix that tablet, and you know you can. Just do it.
Have you got enough cash left for food at least?

I am at no risk of staving or freezing. I am sure I could fix it if I had a laptop. I almost did buy a laptop instead. I feel really stupid.

i am not sure about if I could fix the wifi. That is probably a kernel or 5.10 bug. I doubt I could find the stock rom let alone an update.

What kind of tablet is it?

some generic from a french retail franchise. Presumably rebadged chinese something. I couldn't find a stock rom to reflash. It is teh gone. Better someone else have a "fun" time than me trow it in a canal. I know maybe I could have done somehing but I was half way between bawling my eyes out and wanting to grind these broken things into the pavement.

It was a really dumb decision buying it.

We should try to crowdfund you one of these:
https://www.fasttech.com/products/1518/10020392/6344603
If I had the money I would send one

You know me - I love the idea of a crowdfund. Hell, I'd even start one but all of my posts are dedicated to the #payitforward initiative until January 1 - of which Loki will be one of the recipients.

Sorry to hear about your tablet issues ! 😕 Life can be very frustrating at times ! But I'm glad to hear your not going to starve or freeze ! 🙄 Good luck and I hope the New Year changes things for the better for you ! I'm sure it will ! 👍😊🎄

Loki, I'm so sorry to hear about the tablet. Wasn't there any way to return it for exchange or your money back?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05