You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What the Heck is a "Trigger Warning," and Why are College Students Demanding Them?

in #life8 years ago (edited)

None of this would even matter if the syllabus was determined by the student anyway. Why should people be forced to sit through the covering of a topic that has zero relevance to what they want to be doing as a job after they graduate? There are education systems that work this way, but they are uncommon, Steiner schools being an example. You would not need such a thing as trigger warnings, because students would study material they already declared they wanted to, and that would indemnify the teacher naturally since consent was given.

Maybe that's really the root of this. Education should not be torture. Teachers also don't really want to be trying to force students to learn things they aren't interested in and aren't relevant to them. At least, not teachers who actually want their students to pay attention, and who have enough sense to realise that if the kid isn't listening it's probably because to the student the material is irrelevant or uninteresting.

Sort:  

That is particularly true in public school, before college, when we have to learn some little bit of everything. But, not everyone has an aptitude or interest in everything. I was forced to take Algebra in public school, for example. I'm terrible with mathematics and have no interest in it, either. I couldn't see where I would ever have to use it, so I resented and dreaded having to go to that class. And, I've never used Algebra in the Real World. The class was stressful for me, and a big waste of my time.

Other nations do public school a bit differently, with students being guided into certain study areas where they have aptitude and interest.

At the university level here, you can choose your major, and choose your classes within that major, so there really shouldn't be any surprises in the material you're given. But, the first two years of college are basically an extension of high school. You don't get into the classes for your major until your second two years of college.

Even with the basic education of the first two years of college, you have some control over the classes you take. For example, we had to take two science classes. I avoided things I disliked, such as biology and chemistry, and went with easier, more enjoyable things, like Earth science and environmental science.

So, today's USA college kids really have no excuse for saying they didn't know what would be in a college class. They have a lot of choice over what they take. If they think something will upset them, they shouldn't sign up for it. They definitely shouldn't expect the professor to change the class just for them.

It is my view there is people handing out money to mercenary agitators promoting this demand from the student body... They are trying to complete the process of inculcating everyone in Newspeak.

I would actually not be surprised if this was true.

I agree with your post, and think the request for trigger warnings are ridiculous. I want to respond to a tiny not very relevant point you make in this above response....that algebra was a waste of time and that somehow we should only study what is "relevant". I want to point out that school isn't about memorizing material or even learning equations, it is about learning to use our brains, it's about developing critical thinking, it's about opening our minds, it's about self-development and learning the skills that we'll use all the time, it's about learning HOW to approach a math problem regardless of whether you remember the theorum because some part of your brain understands how math works . Vocational school and/or Graduate school is about learning something very specific that leads you to a job, (except if you're an artist like me!). I know this is besides the point but I just couldn't help having my say about the importance of learning and of skills.

Oh, I agree. I was a teacher for years. I even taught high school for a year and elementary school for a year, in addition to teaching college. I just happen to be a big believer in student-centered learning, which is the theory that, rather than force students to study something they have no interest in and no aptitude for (which has always been me with any kind of mathematics, even today, I still have trouble with it), the curriculum should be designed according to each individual student's strengths and interests. That way, students enjoy school more, are more prepared for what they want to do in the real world, and more actual learning takes place. Some smaller lessons in other things they may not be as interested in can be thrown into lessons in a way that makes sense, and they may discover something new they like and/or are good at. But forcing students into subjects they hate and/or just can't do no matter how hard they try (again, me with math) actually reduces learning, results in poorer grades, and less engagement from the student with their education.

But, I digress. :)

thanks for your reply and I agree with you 99%. I was lucky to spend several years of early schooling and graduate schooling in programs based around self-directed learning. I needed this desperately and value is greatly but am also very very grateful that I was forced to make it through some subjects I hated and failed at miserably - I too hated and was terrible with math. But use math all the time now as an artist, I have to and am grateful that I couldn't opt out of math, also grateful for chemistry which I hated just as much. Anyway, I think we're on the same page and I appreciate the exchange! BTW, I love your posts.

Thanks for the commentary. I'm always glad to discuss things. And, I'm glad you like my posts. Thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67633.57
ETH 2605.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71