You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time Management for Easily Distracted Creative People

in #life8 years ago

I think there is also a lot to be said for trimming off the unnecessary as a tactic for eliminating the problem of time management. I ditched my day job, and now my time is mainly divided between simple duties of my life (I have no kids so yes that makes life a bit simpler, since you have to also manage their schedules), participating in the competitive business of Steem posting and commentary, and working on my programming projects, which are the main way I am attracting vote rewards and being able to fund this more suitable lifestyle for myself.

I think you will probably find, if you are rather good at writing, that you might be able to do as I have done, though not so impulsively, and abandon the day job and focus more on things you love and less on obligations to others that diminish your ability to love your life.

Sort:  

You are probably right, and that is my ultimate goal (to ditch all the other economic activities in favor of just writing), but I have learned my lesson in the past with jumping the gun. I'm going to keep posting here on Steemit, keep submitting stories to science fiction magazines, and keep looking for other opportunities to make money with my writing on the side. Hopefully, while writing part-time, I can develop a small following. In the meantime, I'll keep working at my job at the gun store (which I thoroughly enjoy). When the time is right to move into writing full-time, I'll know it. :D

Cheers to you for getting yourself to the point where you can do what you love for a living!

I couldn't have done this without Steem.

I think that Steem could easily become the main place you publish writing and market other kinds of material you produce.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70782.07
ETH 3815.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44