You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When the electricity goes out, even for a few hours, people get stupid really quick. Most ppl won't even read this and they should!

in #life8 years ago

You bring up a very important point about power outage resilience. Mobile phone networks generally keep running, so do telephony networks, generally, as well as most data centres. In a blackout, blockchain monetary systems can continue running for quite some time, even long enough if the stock of diesel in the generators or the charge in the battery bank gets low, to send out someone to get more energy to keep running until the idiots running the electric get their shit together.

People need to think very seriously about the issue of decentralisation, in particular, to the matter of electricity and water supply. These two areas, if the power goes out, the water pumps stop and if the up-hill reservoirs run out, it can lead pretty quickly to quite a nasty situation. A week without power and water, and most cities would be struck down by sanitation-related diseases, as well as all kinds of panic as people's regular routine is disrupted.

Sort:  

Yes they do need to think seriously about these issues. But they won't. So if you're thinking about it, and so am I? What should we be doing? I think by the time it happens, it's too late. The time to do something is right now. But isn't it sooooooo much easier to do nothing and worry about it tomorrow.

well, they can languidly lie in their luxury. I've had mere hours, at best, days, of luxury in my life. I laugh at these fools so stuck in the eternal now that they are going to sacrifice their futures, and when they get the zombie virus, I will put one between their eyes with glee.

I've had mere hours, at best, days, of luxury in my life

A very strong comment. I'd like to know more. Please consider writing a blog post about this.. I want to learn from experiences I've never had. Please consider sharing more about it.

disaster is everywhere. but infrequent enough most people don't factor it into their plans. but, how old are you? over 30?

Proceed with the next thing you were going to say. You are probably asking me if I am over 30, enough to relate to a possible situation, or if I can remember a certain time when xyz happened.

Even if I wasn't "over 90" but I needed to find out what someone "over 90" might have experienced back in 1930's, I feel that I could research or contact existing family to discover the info I'd need to interpret the discussion.

This is a long winded way of saying, don't ask me how old I am. It won't help or hinder the discussion. Please do go on though..

I didn't take the age question as an insult. I was just suggesting it's not important. Usually when someone asks how old they are, they are leading up to the next part of what they're going to talk about. You didn't talk about anything else... that is the only thing that confused me. If I said "yes I'm over 30" or "no, I'm under 30". Did you have something else to say? We were talking about your comment "mere hours, at best, days, of luxury in my life". That's not something normally a person would say. You obviously have some experiences that I'd love to read.

You know, I didn't mean that to be an insult on your age. I have to deal with being misjudged all the time, in fact, because I behave like a curious, earnest little 6 year old. Still, after all these years.

You don't wanna say how old, or young you are, who gives a fuck. answer the question, or don't resort to adhoms or stupid 'you are too old to understand the problems of the young'. sorry, but I may be 40, but life hasn't changed that much in how it has approached me.

Solve the problem, or not. I don't care who you are, what you look like, how old you are. In the end it is on you, and you get the result you make.

I was very surprised by your reaction, but maybe that is just because I am innocent. People don't understand me because of my age also. They think I am nearly 10 years younger than I actually am. And I'm pretty sure if I had a bit more money, I could make myself look another 5 years younger.

It's not about what you look like, how many years you have walked this sad planet, or how sick it made you. It's about how ready you are to face what is in front of you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44