You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Geek in Prison - A Life Series by Charlie Shrem (Part 6 - On Muslims and Jews)

in #life8 years ago (edited)

When I first landed in remand, I was jammed in a tiny cell isolated from every other cell with Muslims. Well, one was a proper Muslim, a Moroccan Berber, former Communist, and he had with him a side-by-side arabic-english Qur'an.

Being dominated by these folk in number, and curious, with no other interest other than studying my Bulgarian language learning text, I read the Qur'an twice. First time to familiarise, second time because I decided I liked the thing enough that I wanted to try it.

I converted, 'officially', practised for some 6 weeks or so, and I still basically consider that my view on the Other is shaped in a big way by Islam. What I liked about it most was the way they took on the old judaic stuff, and kept very strictly to it. I was raised a Seventh Day Adventist, and this funny little 'Great Disappointment' sect that sprung out of the 19th century USA is very strict at the dietary regime, and I already grew up without pork in my diet. I still don't like it, and it somewhat disagrees with my digestive system anyway.

However, there was some serious conflicts. They segregate foreigners and bulgarians and gypsies in the Bulgarian prison system, and most of the foreigners were from the middle east and north africa. But aside from my Berber friend, most of the rest I was stuck with for 3 months were horrid, badly behaved teenagers who had no concept of bedtime. For me it was a big problem, because they essentially deprived me of sleep by making a racket all night until 2am in the morning. That left me many nights with only 4 hours sleep and after dawn I was unable to rest, even when they were quiet.

I enjoyed reading your story, and it is interesting to me just how fast Islam has spread into the USA now. I am not one for engaging in meaningless, non-effectual rituals, and after about 18 month homeless (after 1 year in detention) since then, I started to pray, as per the instructions in 4 Philippians 6-7. I have even started up again because it helps me with my Steem writing.

update

I just want to make a remark on something hilarious that just happened. I follow @xeroc on streemian. He voted here, and then, lo and behold, I look at my notifications on esteem, and there I am, voting on myself. I swear I didn't mean to vote on my own comment! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67838.57
ETH 2628.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72