My last two days in transit

in #life7 years ago

On


Thursday night, I stayed up fairly late, and then after midnight, my uitkering payment was in my bank, and so I ended up staying up, excited that I was about to finally leave Amsterdam at last, after 4 months.

So, after my all-nighter, I went down to the DWI to check my post. If I don't check my post every 6 weeks at least they stop paying me. Well, I don't really mind so much, but one more payment would probably make everything work just that little bit better.

On the way back I was walking down Jan van Galenstraat, past Erasmuspark, where the plums are blooming (or maybe they are cherries?):

I was nervous about how much I was going to have to pay to get a train to Schiphol Airport, and I needn't have... Here is my ticket with the road out the back of Amsterdam Centraal Station in the background:

To be honest, I haven't really been much in the mood for taking photographs, and if you think these pictures are not such great quality even scaled down a bit on the screen here, that's because the camera is terrible on the Pixi 4 (5) I bought. I'm not really much of a picture person anyway and especially in places like an airport I'm paranoid about someone thinking I'm a terrist scoping the place out (like they do that...)

So here is the silly i amsterdam thing that the Amsterdam city council uses to market Amsterdam (like Amsterdam really needs marketing anyway!). Technically, Schiphol is actually part of the Hoofdoorp municipality, the next city over to the west:

My first view of Istanbul airport. Istanbul airport is the most crappy airport I have ever been to. Beijing was probably the nicest I ever saw. All the airports in Europe seem like they could be built and run by the same people, the same shops... and Istanbul had all the same junk as well.

I snapped a photo of the opposite side of the Belgrade Central Railway Station when I passed through last time. Here is the front.

I took a taxi from Belgrade Nikola Tesla Aerodrome, pictured below is where our plane parked. In Istanbul, also, the plane parked out in the middle of a big area with lots of parked planes and we were shuttled to and fro in this weird very wide bus. Like a normal airport, at Nikola Tesla, there was the big covered in catwalk that comes in and docks with the plane.

On my old passport, I had stamps from two chinese airports, but nobody on border checkpoints in Europe normally stamps my passport with anything. All three of these here are from Serbia.

The first, oldest stamp was from when I took a bus to go rescue not very much money from my ING bank account. I'm not sure if the one from february last year was going to Amsterdam or coming back, but for some reason only one time they stamped it.

I hitch-hiked out of Sofia on my way to SteemFest, getting a lift from just outside the Sofia city limits, which there says it was the 15th of October when I did that. Then there is the third one below, which has a plane instead of a car icon on it.

The taxi driver who took me to Belgrade Central tried to tell me the train to Novi Sad was going to be in the range of 20-25 euros. This here was the ticket I bought, I was pretty sure I remembered the price was around 4 euros. 388 RSD, sure enough!

This is the train station of Petrovaradin, the town across the Danube from Novi Sad. I wrote a piece about the Petrovaradinska Tvrdava, the old fortress... Sometime soon I should get a good bright torch and make a photo set of the underground tunnels there.

I vaguely noticed this little memorial before but I decided to take a photograph. It is of some early railroad pioneer of Serbia, I think. The statue is very nicely constructed, and that's a proper old steem train. I mean steam train. :)

For those who can read Serbian, this is the plaque bolted to the side of the train that you can see vaguely in the first picture.

So, I'm settled in now, at a hostel called Rookies. I am going out shortly to meet up with @deearchi and we are going to hang out and catch up a bit this evening. I'm not gonna do any too much staying up late though, I still haven't slept and my eyeballs are all nasty.

😎


We can't code here! This is Whale country!

Vote #1 l0k1

Go to steemit.com/~witnesses to cast your vote by typing l0k1 into the text entry at the bottom of the leaderboard.

(note, my username is spelled El Zero Kay One or LimI have been through Serbia twice in busesa Zero Kilo One, all lower case)

Sort:  

Wow, nice to hear about your trip, seems like you're in a good place now! Best wishes!

Have a blast, I love this stuff. Would love a translation on that plaque.

something like,

On 5th March 1883 passed the first railway from Novi Sad to Subotica. To commemorate this event... [ this part is where my total lack of knowledge of Serbian grammar shows, but I think it says: ] the workers of the Novi Sad Railway Station placed this locomotive.

Oddly, google translate wanted to tell me this was written in Bosnian. The languages of old Jugo are all very close together, to the point where the eastern parts the language has been referred to as 'Serbo-Croatian' which includes Bosnia and Montenegro (ahem, and Kosovo) - the people in all these countries can visit their neighbours and pretty much understand 99% of what locals are saying.

That was great! Thank you!

That was an interesting read. Wish you much luck, fun and success on your way.

Good luck !

I like seeing what you are up to and always hoping you are doing OK my man.

It's been so warm here, in #Canadastan where I am - like your post..... the trees are in bloom

I noticed it on pine trees in my n'hood y-day!!! New growth already!

#GlobalWarming

Have a good weekend my man.

nice post friend

leuk! In Limburg no blossoms yet.

good luck to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50