Maybe today I buy some crypto, and plans to run a Witness

in #life8 years ago (edited)

This


morning I am heading out to a Bitcoin ATM in Lelystad, a small city east of Amsterdam.

https://www.google.nl/maps/place/SATOS/@52.5060273,5.4751655,15z/data=!4m2!3m1!1s0x0:0x282ab0157b67a870?sa=X&nogmmr=1

I have a @blocktrades address set up to convert bitcoin to Steem Power, and hopefully by this afternoon there will be about €1000 worth more in there.

Fingers crossed, because so far I have spent nearly 3 weeks failing to find any way to buy any kind of crypto. Amsterdam does not seem to like bitcoin very much...

Plans for running a Witness

I am currently very keen to get things moving, and I have been obstructed so many different ways from doing anything much for the last 3 months.

I put aside all my ongoing things last night in order to make some decisions. I don't like how little I can do, and it is difficult to get into a good frame of mind and physical situation to do anything, be it writing for Steem or coding. I considered whether since I have enough money, to go back east to Novi Sad, or Sofia, if this was viable, and while I can get myself a place to live for 3 months, money left over would be only enough for me to get a job ASAP and earning money to keep up with expenses. My dream of having a baby data centre and development lab is not possible on this budget.

So my mind moved to the question of whether I can hire a couple of cloud servers to run a witness. I am not that interested in mining, it is not easy to make a decent profit, and in my opinion anyway, mining is going to be history within 5 years. DPoS with consensus issuance without PoW will take over. I think a Steem witness, both for thinking forwards and being proactive, and the fact I have over 600 followers now, I might have a reasonable chance to make the top 19.

Several existing elected witnesses are directing their witness earnings to fund development projects, and this is what I would like to do.

So, I discovered that I can probably afford to rent a couple of Amazon AWS EC2 servers. I have a sufficient computer to manage the servers, and I certainly can build and configure a Steem witness as good as anyone.

So, after I hopefully do a massive power up this morning, I am going to start working on getting a witness running, and when it is ready and running, I can start evangelising about the manifold benefits of me being an elected witness :)

Update

So, I found it pretty easy, and the ATM was not working due to it not being able to connect to the wifi. But the nice lass there was able to do it with their machine, though I had to enter the address manually. I used a blocktrades conversion address for SP and within 15 minutes, my SP is now over 12000. YAY!

Now to go back to the 'Dam and start working on setting up a witness!

😎


We can't code here! This is Whale country!

Sort:  

Think about Golos witness too )
Golos token is worth 0.04$ now and I think there's good chance fo it to take over Steem soon )

Well, I guess it is much the same technically. But for non russian speakers the golos is a bit intimidating and I doubt I could get enough votes to get on the schedule. But I will keep it in mind. I lost access to my l0k1 account there, they replicated my account but I didn't know and I haven't got the password. I have "loki" though.

Your introduction post was received well, and if you check out witness list you'll see some people from Steemit there, so keep it in mind )
https://golos.io/~witnesses

Well, while my steem witness is in backup status I think that probably I can run both at once. Maybe I have to pay a little extra for some more memory to enable this. Then if I get on one of the schedules I just shut down the one that didn't. We'll see :)

Good luck with your power up and future witnessing! :)

I better fly over and we can go to coffee shop in Amsterdam and get messy - another great post

Glad to see you are still here, and believing in Steem. Good luck with these plans!

@berniesanders will crash the price of Steem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62644.80
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62