L0k1's new lairsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I



have been putting this off for some time because the place has been a mess with all the boxes of Ikea furniture and computer bits, but I have got it all set up now, and aside from getting the ethernet cable in the wall connected to a fast internet connection, it's more or less settled as to how I am going to use the space.

First, the bathroom, of course. It's pretty basic but it's tiled to the ceiling with some sorta early 90s 'tasteful' sorta gothic/new wavey dark sorta styling. There is marble tiles on the entry floor also. The main reason I took this place was that bathtub. Though I have to use it for the dish-washing sorta as well, as you can see by the plastic buckets and tubs in it.

DSC00041

For good measure, a nice fly on the wall type shot overview:

DSC00042

This is the view from the entry hall, I had been putting off doing a load of washing because I couldn't figure out how to string up a line, but this seems to work ok for now (one end on the window handle, one end on the hall jacket hooks).

DSC00043

The overview of the main space. The landlord left this funny old telefunken LCD TV there, and hasn't yet brought the remote control so I have wrestled the weird manual interface on it to allow me to use it as a secondary display for winamp visualisation and playing 'High Definition' videos. After getting the Dell 4k display on the left, and playing them on the screen, I can't stand watching them at seat distance, I have to go to sit on the bed to not be bugged by visual artifacts and crappy pixelation. So, it looks just as good on the other, at least it looks pretty.

DSC00044

The washing machine, recently fresh from its first time working for me... it's a barrel spinny type job, with a weird closure and the barrel is not face front with the opening to the front, instead it's sideways axis, and you load it from the top. It does a pretty thorough job.

DSC00045

The 'kitchen' area. Well, it doesn't have any plumbing, and the refrigerator is the smallest I have ever seen outside of a caravan. I think all these things could be fixed fairly easy with the wet wall the washing machine sits against, but meh I'm getting used to the drill with keeping the kitchen nice.

DSC00046

Right outside my window is a tin roof, atop some strange building that I think is a car fixing place, with a car-lift and 3 stories of car-spaces, and an old man who whistles cheerfully a few times a day who I guess must have something to do with the place.

DSC00047

My wardrobe, and you can sorta see a bit of my new big-wheel razor scooter thingy. It's been out on one big trip, I intend to take it out every other day for a trek, especially when I have something to go chase. I am planning to visit a store I know not far from here and get a giant sack of magnesium sulphate so I can have nice magnesium soaks, and some crystal iodine and potassium iodine and make up a couple of litres of lugol's iodine, which has been without question the first and still the most important and effective medicine, singularly, that I have found so far. I'll be sharing the story about this soon, I think I should go get it tomorrow.

DSC00048

The view from my bed if I were to sit up and look out towards the southeast.

DSC00049

The new monitor... The zoom on this web page is normal, it looks like printed material almost.

DSC00050

Up close with a 1 Bulgarian New Leva coin and my thumb for size comparison. Regular sized interfaces are practically fine print on this nice new screen.

DSC00051

The Computer

So, here is a general overview of the interior of my new computer. You can see that there's almost no cables, they are all hidden behind the motherboard. I will show that shot shortly. These MSI motherboards are very pretty with their matte black colour and fancy LEDs (the big bright red one indicates there is a functioning VGA controller plugged in, and a set of 4 just above the rainbow of cables on the middle right shows when each subsystem is initialising and stays stuck when something is wrong.)

DSC00052

You can see here closer how that giant fat cable disappears into a rubber gaskety thing, it's very nice having the interior space so clear like this, when you want quiet, effective ventilation.

DSC00053

Here you can see two of the gaskety things routing cables, in this case the USB, VGA power and I think, the front panel connectors.

DSC00054

This is the promised rear-view. It is not quite as perfect as I would normally do it, because I did it initially before I knew I needed to get a video card, and the fans I bought, didn't have screws, so I ended up cannibalising half of the ones on the inbuilt fans to put another two. Once I started the Nvidia 1060 mining it became clear a little more air movement would help. This case has also quite clever design for ventilation, it has dust screens on the top, front and bottom intakes, and only the rear fans blow out backwards. All the rest suck in. There is two at the top, two at the front, and one at the back, you can have two 3.5" HDDs, presumably in a raid array. Sorta not much point since I have a Samsung NVMe 256gb drive hiding underneath the video card - and there is a spot for a fan there too.

So it would not be hard to use this case to rig up many in a row, as they are designed to have cool air one side and blow it out only one face at the back. I've always wanted to use these fancy game cases, and the big video cards kinda require it, regular business/basic computer type cases have no space, even though they don't give you any more real room for what you need in it now.

DSC00055

Lastly, the way that I get online now. I have the ethernet cable plugged in from the wall in case it turns on, as I did ask one ISP to get it set up, but I haven't yet heard from them. So that little dongle there, a Huawei 3372, has a Max Telecom ( maxtelecom.bg ) sim in it and I have 20gb of fast speed and unlimited for the next month with it.

DSC00056

I hope you enjoyed my little virtual tour of my new housing situation :) Hopefully also this environment and equipment will be conducive to me being more productive.

Sort:  

Beautiful Room , Your Room look cleanly and not messy , i hope soon i get room like you !

It was pretty bad until yesterday. The chair and black desk both had huge boxes and I've stashed the case and monitor box above the wardrobe to keep it out of the way.

All this is is sponsored by my decision to go all-in on writing for steem while the short term rewards were very skimpy... Hopefully I can continue to up my game in the business of business :)

Goodluck For Business Man !

virtual tour. ;} Thanx for being active and opening up your home to take a peek on what you do.

Congrats on the new place @l0k1, it looks great! :)

No more skateboarding? Dan really stacked it on some nasty concrete a few weeks ago. Sucks bein' old bastids, huh? ;)

Love your pad, man. Great splashes of color. The ghetto fabulous laundry line just pulls it all together ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72