Getting settled in Novi Sad, reflections on the new project

in #life7 years ago

Here is my current workstation. I just got the new chair and keyboard today. I wanted to share it and I asked myself where, so I thought, oh yeah, I have that steem account...

The crappy chair I had before was distracting me so much, this new one, it's cheap and simple but it is a million times better than one not designed for a computer. The keyboard is not my idea of perfect but it's a lot better than the one on the sony vaio laptop. Just light enough and longer travel that I don't feel quite so frustrated typing on it.

Reflections on the Dawn Network

The Dawn Network is a peculiarly open source project... Pretty much nobody is telling anyone else what to do. @faddat is going nuts on his side, building out of components a complete p2p hosting system and voting system for it. He is taking the concept from Steem for voting on posts, to instead, media files (text, audio, photo, video) hosted on peers who earn for their work, are tagged into the blockchain and then a scheme for voting and allocating new Dawn tokens according to how the voting goes. I haven't seen any discussion yet about schemes to counter gaming strategies against it, really we are at the early stage of building the basic parts yet. The consensus engine is still a little way into the future, maybe a few weeks we will know exactly how we are giving out new tokens based on these votes.

For myself, I'm building a total blockchain/etc engine from the ground up, using Go. I am just getting to the point where I can build a basic system of connecting new nodes up to the network. I am using Tor as the basis of my design. There is much talk about clearing transactions in under 3 seconds (or less) but I think if it is under 10 seconds it's fast enough, so I don't think the extra latency of Tor is going to be a problem. I intend to build a second, direct connection layer that builds upon the discovery process that uses Tor.

Getting nodes connected is a big puzzle in the blockchain building situation. There is all kinds of emotive arguments about whether people should depend on a single source for a list of nodes or not. Well, I don't think that is so important as how they are discovered. The peer discovery system I am designing will allow any node in the network become an introducer for new nodes. The list of available nodes is dynamically generated, and any node that has a current advertisment live and circulating can return any and all of the list of peers.

Well, I just wanted to share a pic of my new workstation situation and now back to work!

Sort:  

Glad you keep posting.

Steemit has a lot of flaws, but there's nothing better, yet.

indeed. when I've got a story to tell, this is my first port of call...

the need for something better is more acute for this though!

Same here man. It's the best that exists currently without a doubt.

Nice spot, quite essential, as it should be (but it's a matter of taste, as usual!) I prefer chairs with armrests since I've noticed that otherwise, when I'm thinking about, I put elbows on the table and as conseguence my face becomes too much close to the screen — I suppose my eyes aren't happy of this!

Go is an interesting language, and I'm reading more now about the Dawn Network — blockchain-based global operating system — rather ambitious project, it seems!

i prefer no arms on my chair because when i sit i often want to go cross-legged. In fact I prefer to sit right on the floor, japanese style. I could rant about ergonomics all day long but I'll just leave it at that...

Yes, it's an integrated plan, from the hardware level to the application level. Hardware integration is vital for enabling at least part of the userbase to have a turn-key system, they just plug it in, and it just works. Yes, we are borrowing and riding on the shoulders of giants with this, Google knows where it's at, we just want to eliminate the closed development and corporate structure and one-way feed of data from user to their database. Everyone will have the ability to use the data generated.

Sweet, good to see you gaining momentum! You got this! :)

The Dawn Network is a peculiarly open source project... Pretty much nobody is telling anyone else what to do.

I think this is a great way to work as long as there is a lot of communication. When every knows roughly what everyone else is doing, people tend to slot into each others' work, when motivated 😉

Good luck with the new set up.

Steemit is your home, L0k1 ))))

What are your thoughts on standing desks? Or other ways to defeat sedentary habits? I hate to say it but my current keyboards are microsoft (traditional-ish) and apple (chicklet).

I want the zero gravity suspension field :)

I haven't used a keyboard that I really liked since that Typematrix I had. They don't make keyboards as well now as they used to.

Glad to see you doing a bit better.

Glad to see you're back!

A new @l0k1 dawn is rising! ... looks like you got one of those BIG 7kg drum washing machines too! Lucky man. Best of luck @l0k1 ... back to work now! :)

i dunno, it's narrower than standard machines. I would think it's a 6kg load max or so. It works great though.

indeed, the work never sleeps!

Clean clothes - clean apartment and a clean conscience -which means a happy heart @l0k1 <3 Steem on on your new dimension old friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63820.95
ETH 2497.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69