Announcement: Relocating to Novi Sad

in #life7 years ago

As


I write this I am sitting next to a Leger des Heils (salivation army) office they have here at Schiphol Airport (luchthaven). A lot of homeless people scavenge here, because especially cannabis tourists often ditch their baggies on the way out of the country here. There is a few hidey holes in the place you can disappear and go to sleep also, I did it once on the catwalk area near the "Colors" cafe just above Departures.

Well, anyway, I have a flight leaving at 01:55 tonight, which is about 3.5hrs to Istanbul, then the same time again snoozing in the departure lounge, and then about 90 minutes or so to Belgrade. I get in at Belgrade Nikola Tesla Airport at something like 10:30 (EEST) and I'll be jumping on the train to get myself to Novi Sad, where I have decided to set up shop for my next bit of my life.

I spent a few days there hanging out with @deearchi on my way to get to SteemFest, and this funny little city quite charmed me, and maybe you can read this story from when I was passing north out of Nish, the largest southern settlement in Serbia, one special little hound really stole my heart and made me a bit sad (I really wanted to take her with me).

The very first time I laid eyes on this particular part of the world, I was fairly enchanted. For about 40 minutes after you cross the border out of Bulgaria from Sofia, the road winds around a river surrounded by steep, very rocky mountains. Then I met that dog, and I met @deearchi, and I think I have always had a bit of a soft spot somewhere for slavs in general but especially the southern ones, one of my best buddies in highschool his father was from here, and I had quite the infatuation with this lass from Slovenia some years back. Another girlfriend her father was Czech.

There is no real reason for it, it's one of those things.

But I didn't really know what to expect. Serbia was pretty much my number two idea for somewhere to try and set up in eastern europe. I almost left Sofia before I'd been there 2 weeks, but I chickened out. Well, I don't know if that was for the better or not, but 5 months later I was face down on the pavement outside my apartment in Lozenets in Sofia. But the way I was going back then, I could have just as easily landed in the same pile of doo-doo .

So for me, Serbia also has a sense of 'second chance' for me to make something of my life.

I didn't sleep last night. I had mentioned and have been talking about going back there since I visited Novi Sad before SteemFest. I had been eagerly anticipating the finally bloody leaving Amsterdam, the whole time. Indeed, since leaving Novi Sad. So I'm a bit ragged at the moment, and you should be grateful I am even telling you :p

In about 2.5 hours I will be getting myself checked in, whereupon I will aim to fall asleep also, since it is kinda normal to do this on late night flights. I am going to set my flip phone and my smartphone to make irritating noises at me half an hour before boarding so I don't miss it with this sleep deprivation.

I don't know why I do this but travel makes me all weird with time and sleep. I don't really understand how it is that I have had the energy to push myself to do the walking and rough sleeping and all this. I thought I had quit that back in 1998...

Oh well.

Anyway, the main reason for me relocating sooner is that I want to work on stuff and the routine is terrible in Amsterdam and after the end of the month I would be outside and in the StoelenProject. I have nearly spent 2 years homeless in Amsterdam now. I didn't mean to be. First time I just got jammed up because of my passport. Second time, indirectly, after getting m passport nicked.

Perhaps I should have a backup ID document... 3 times the charm... NOES!

😎


We can't code here! This is Whale country!

Vote #1 l0k1

Go to steemit.com/~witnesses to cast your vote by typing l0k1 into the text entry at the bottom of the leaderboard.

(note, my username is spelled El Zero Kay One or Lima Zero Kilo One, all lower case)

Sort:  

Serbia is a nice place @l0ki and I think you'll settle there OK. I also like Romania and Poland as you know. I'm also a big fan of Slovenia. Ljubljana is one of the most beautiful cities in Eastern Europe next to Krakow, Poland. I'm heading back to Krakow for a month in May. Poland is also a great cheap place to live too. Steem on, stay warm and stay safe.
Good luck with your new journey :))

I have an Aunt and cousins who live in Kranj, although my Aunt is Croatian. She was a fashion design professor in Ljubljana for a while.

Agreed! Ljubljana & Krakow are my favourite 2 cities in Eastern Europe!!

Novi Sad is awesome. Just think of the Exit festival!

Upvoted and RS ;)

Safe flight

Welcome to Serbia @l0k1, I'm sure you will have a good time.

I should be visiting there in May if all goes to plan. I'm getting a cottage there.

Oooo, good luck with your relocation! :-)

Saluton amiko kaj ĉion bonan por la nova komenco !

Good job! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54