Sound of Silence

in #life7 years ago

To Cover or not

Rarely has a cover tune, come out of an epic song that would do justice to it.

Let's face it, if the song was epic then where else do you go from there?

But then there is always room to rock an emotional cord in a new (and old)
generation... well for me it happened.

The epic ballad Sound of Silence from Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel... is now one such double epic classic.

The Original (1964)

The soft absolute melodic perfection created by Simon & Garfunkel, haunts the mind with lyrics of pure genius and raw emotional yearning and innocence shattered. Each line of the song is every bit as relevant then as now with the problems plaguing society... peoples silence over the atrocities. It resounds of the apathy people are falling farther into, ignoring blatant abuses in all manner as they bow in homage to false derivatives of life.

Lyrics

Hello, darkness, my old friend
I've come to talk with you again
Because a vision softly creeping
Left its seeds while I was sleeping

And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence

In restless dreams I walked alone
Narrow streets of cobblestone
'Neath the halo of a street lamp
I turned my collar to the cold and damp

When my eyes were stabbed by the flash of a neon light
That split the night
And touched the sound of silence

And in the naked light I saw
Ten thousand people, maybe more
People talking without speaking
People hearing without listening

People writing songs that voices never share
And no one dare
Disturb the sound of silence

"Fools," said I, "You do not know:
Silence, like a cancer, grows.
Hear my words that I might teach you.
Take my arms that I might reach you."

But my words like silent raindrops fell
And echoed in the wells of silence

And the people bowed and prayed
To the neon God they made
And the sign flashed out its warning
And the words that it was forming

And the sign said,
"The words of the prophets are written on the subway walls
And tenement halls."
And whispered in the sound of silence

Listen to the original

The Cover (2015)

The raw, edgy and desperate whaling of David Draiman, lead singer of the band Disturbed... recounts this epic song yielding the same message with the current emotional heartbeat of the world population. As the people around the world awaken from our silent slumber, the words are now spun into a rebel call to arms. The apathy and silence is now the springboard of this awakening and this cover of the lyrics depicts every painful thorn of this modern entanglement we find ourselves in as we struggle to unbind our souls.

Listen to the Cover

.

.

.


-Steemit-tn.jpg">[2]

Good Health – Evan Pantazi

#Kyusho

Image Credits: dailypublic, wernermedia, misterp.ink

Sort:  

Beautiful soung from good artists. I like the leyrics...@kyusho, thanks for sharing this here...good guy

When a message is timeless, it carries on... thanks for coming by.

I agree with you. Keep up the good work and sharing timeless posts...great guy

Beautiful song thanks for mentioning the lyrics, The old one is way more better that the new one in my opinion. Thanks for sharing buddy ; )

Best Regards
@varunsangwan

I like both as they reflect a different emotion (reflective of society at their respective times), with the same words and melody. Both sharp cutting criticism on apathy. Thanks for the comment.

Beautiful song.. please give me upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55