Jury Duty

in #life7 years ago

What I have observed

We all dread it... it arrives without notice, it sucks the wind right out of our lungs with a resounding ARRG!

"NOT THEN"

IMG_2921.JPG

It is never a great time to go and sit forever in a room filled with other people thinking and feeling the same way. You sit for hours, only to be released or worse taken in for selection process, again only to be released. Or worst case scenario, you get selected to serve!

Oh Noooo!!!

IMG_2922.JPG

Let's face it there is never a good time to go as our schedules are so packed and tight we do not have a morning, a day, a week or any variable of time possible, to take out of our life, work or schedule.

I know the argument; "it's your civic duty"... well I posit that if you do not want to be there, you shouldn't be. You will be irritated, possibly stressed or highly anxious, thinking of so many things you would not be a good juror anyway. It takes 100% focus you won't have, it is not optimal for the process and people involved.

So let's say you get summon!

Here are some tips

That may help you out:

  • Arrive 15 - 30 minutes late, if they are only filling 12-24 spots and you are the 40th signed in you have a chance of release once those spots are filled.
  • Don't dress well, not too obnoxious... but a Smith and Wesson T-Shirt might just get you excused.
  • If you are brought in for selection, state your hardship... for me I am a one man show at my work and the time is detrimental for your livelihood.
  • Worse case scenario.... actually not recommended: ask "does this court recognize jury nullification"?

Think what you want, but we have all thought about it.

.
.
.


Good Health – Evan Pantazi #Kyusho

Image Credits: geneandjulie,

Sort:  

Great advice. You know overall I've been really lucky. I've gotten the notice a couple of times. I've never actually been called in to go sit around which is super nice. Although, I do get a bit stressed out when I get the notice because they always send them to me at what seems like the worst time possible with work.

And 8 cities away... I have gone a number of times... my argument is that they bully you into it, just as they do with "volentary" taxation.

Bullies sometimes need to be confronted, just as signing away your liberty.

8 cities away yikes! I can definitely see how they bully us into it!

I recently had jury duty as well... "Adventures in... How NOT to GET OUT of JURY DUTY!" It also gave me another bit of a "steemit epiphany"! lol

(steemit epiphany: that moment you realize your steemit post on jury duty, earned triple what you received performing your "civic duty")!

That is funny... it is not the money I worry about it is the waste of time and hardship on us that actually work. There are pools of people that are available...elderly, out of work, etc. Why do they "SUMMONS" a person, geesh this is coercion. They should have a jury sign-up instead.

Reminds me of a 'Calvin' comic i read once, where at the end he says, if you do a job bad enough, then you won't get asked to do it again. hilarious to me at the time as a kid as i was always being asked to do different chores. though, not good as a practical matter for your attitude in life.

The entire system is in need of change, summons, force, penalty is not the correct process for brining together a jury.

It like most governing processes need a drastic change.

We are very fortunate not to have that in our country. In South Africa we have a judge and one person decides the fate of the accused.

Wow I rather have 12! But if you are the accused you need to persuade less.

I just have to make sure that I don't land in court...lol!

I am well pleased to you

I'm glad we don't have this in our country.

Funny. Check out my blog EXCUSED FROM JURY DUTY . It's not very long.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39