A ClassicsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

"Some people Grow, some people Swell".

  • Anthony Scarmucci

One of the best quotes I have heard in a long time, as it is so spot on for so many (especially in the Martial Arts)... but very relatable for many more of you reading this.

After more than four decades as a full time professional Martial Artist, I have seen my share of big egos... and I think I know why!

Preface

More people train in the Martial Arts than are involved in any other sport except soccer. But the question that always came to my mind is why it is now mostly children. It used to be mainly adults, but the market flipped.

It is now (in my opinion), the last activity the deeply involves; history, tradition, philosophy, meditation, self improvement, physical, mental and spiritual growth. It turned more sport and competitive with more show than substance.

People are more concerned with how they look and or performance rather than self reflection, study and perfection.

But this is not exclusive to the Arts!

No it is rampant throughout society and at all levels no matter what profession or endeavor.

There are very few bastions of self improvement as opposed to self aggrandizement.

The reason

I have discovered a possible reason for this in the Arts.

Most people join the Art to gain self esteem, confidence and become stronger. But when they do, some can not handle it as it makes them feel so much more alive and courageous. After so many years of living in an insecure or lower self worth, they overshoot the norm.

Or....

They just pulled their belt too tight and all the blood went to their head!

Back to the quote

Now it must be said that there are great instructors out there that help people find the best them they can be, through study. I imagine this is everywhere... that "some people grow and some swell"!

.
.
.


Good Health – Evan Pantazi #Kyusho

Image Credit: smkoefreeatlast

Sort:  

You have some good analyzation skills , impressive 👍

It is easier to see humanity when woke. That is why I like the folks on Steemit (like you), as folks here (for the most part), are woke.

Congratulations @kyusho! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

one of the best post read today on steemit.

Yeah when I saw it I could not resist.

Cool quote. You described martial arts very well. It's true!

You have a cool way of looking at situations. Keep up the cool content. I think maybe a few more pictures to the theme wouldn't hurt :)

Talk soon brother!

Yes it is, some styles even more than others!

I see you've been quite consistent with your content. It's really awesome to see you are dedicated. I am striving to be the same. Still have a bit of time to catch-up lol (only been here 27 days). I will give you a follow for that :)

That is a good quote! Here's to growing!

Up up and away... seriously the whole crypto space is bringing folks from all walks back to the growing stage to woke!

so cool post @kyusho

Thank you, as soon as I heard it I needed to share it.

I do like the general attitude of this teacher:

He seems extremely advanced in his art and presents his tradition with humility and expertise all in one.

Agree for sure my friend:)

All you can do at times is shake your head in amazement, disbelief or affirmation of the general direction.

awesome quote, and awesome article :)))

It fits so many... unfortunately.

Everything changes in time, we all do. Lovely post :) @kyusho

Some in better directions, some not so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74