The number 1 thing you don't want to lose

in #life6 years ago

I feel like I don't know what to say or where to start, I have so many one line thoughts running through my head that I could easily expand on...

Life is precious

Make sure you tell people you love them

Health is not something to be taken for-granted

Here I am sitting in the hospital with my MacBook waiting beside my best friend, this post is not about Chad, it's about Steph.

IMG_0264.jpg

She is the most beautiful, kind, loving, modest person I know. I am so lucky to have her in my life. In fact this past year would have been unbearable without her support.

IMG_0255.jpg

I guess I could start by saying I am happy, I am relieved and I can breath. Two days ago Steph started to feel sick and was admitted to the hospital and the Dr's were not sure what was wrong but things did not look good. I won't get too much into her personal life in this post but the sickness could have had a life altering or a life threatening outcome.

It is crazy what your mind goes, the things you think about when you are waiting helplessly for medicine to help your best friend, not knowing if it will work or not. Like sand running through an hour glass and all you can do is wait and watch as it drop away pebble by pebble.

Snap away from those thoughts, focus on the positive, be brave, don't let her see the strain of your heart on your face. Help her heal.

Last night when I got home from the hospital I went through so many photos of her and I and remembered all the good times we have had.

IMG_0258.jpg

Her birthday

IMG_0259.jpg

My birthday

We are both May babies and only 6 days apart. We often have joint b'days but sometimes its fun to separate them too!

IMG_0261.jpg
We have fun in the winter

IMG_0260.jpg
We have fun in the spring

IMG_0253.jpg

We have fun in the summer of course

IMG_0263.jpg

And you guessed it we have fun in the fall

When you don't know Steph and you look at her you might think, yes she is beautiful, but it is when you really take the time to talk to her and get to know her that you find out just how gorgeous she really is.

Steph is always thinking about other people and how she can help them. She is the type of person who would gladly go without if it meant that someone else was comfortable.

How did she get to be this type of person you might wonder?

IMG_92F336B3680A-1.jpeg

I believe it was a combination of nurture and nature. Her family has always been amazing literally taking me in and including me as one of their own. When I sit here over these past few days in the hospital with her family surrounding her I can physically feel the love in the air.

IMG_901496D211D2-1.jpeg

There are 4 people sitting around her bed, basically watching her sleep, giving her water and cool cloths, putting on her socks and extra blankets and calling the nurse when needed. No one wants to leave her side because they all love her so much.

This is a pretty incredible experience to be a part of, nearly devastating but when you try to find the positive in situations this is what I would see. Love and selflessness breeds more love!

She is my best friend, I love her and I am going to be so happy to see her go home healthy.

IMG_0236.jpg

Remember to always tell the people you love that you love them even if its multiple times a day. Cherish the moments in life that make you smile. Give people more hugs, say more nice things, smile more. Enjoy the basic moments because life can change very rapidly. Don't sweat the small stuff, none of it will matter when something big happens.

IMG_0233.jpg

It is health that is real wealth and not pieces of gold and silver.
Mahatma Gandhi
❤️❤️❤️

Follow me @kylaki if you want to hear more about my best friend returning home healthy or if you want to see what else I'm up to in Canada and around the world!

As always comments, upvotes and resteems are very much appreciated ❤️

Canada Banner .png
Banner by @bearone

Sort:  

The number 1 thing i don't want to lose is love

Well in this case your health but love is also true!

Wow, you are so very fortunate to have a friend like that and she is very fortunate to have you. Friendship is something that many people take for granted and many people don't understand how meaningful it can be.

Health is another one of those things that people take for granted. Having gone through multiple health trials throughout my life I can sympathize with other going through trouble. With so many people surrounding her hospital bed, she will have some great motivation to get well soon!

Thank you,
Spencer Coffman
SpencerCoffman.com

Thank you for the kind and inspirational comment! I would agree with you I am certainly lucky to have her in my life and I am always my best self to try to make her life as good as I can. I still know she is a better person than I but her example is always something to work towards for me.

I feel like with all of us here waiting and cheering her on she will get our positive thoughts and words and will gain back her strength and her health. Send positive vibes her way please!

I'm sure you are a great person as well. The kind of friend who would take the time to make this type of blog post is certainly a friend I would love to have.

You are right, positivity is a great form of medicine. She will be better in no time!

Aww thanks, her mom said I am a good friend lol must be true!

Excellent news today they found a treatment that will work and she is on the mend!! She won't be sick for much longer. Feels so relieving, I am so happy she will be alive and well in no time!!

You are welcome. Never doubt that it is true.

I hope Steph recovers well and all is well. It must be a hard time, thanks for sharing.

Thank you so do I, she's been sleeping for so long. We should know more in the morning I hope!

Make sure you give out an extra hug today!

Great post, thank you for this!

Your welcome, my hope I suppose by writing it is that someone will read it and tell someone else they love them, make them smile and feel good. Love breeds love and I think everyone can easily make the world a better place just by being kind to one another.

Also thanks so much for the re-steem, glad you enjoyed my post :)

Good and loyal friends are always hard to find. Keep them :)

I know, there are so many "friends" I have who are there for the good times but might not be as available for the tough times. Super lucky to have this gem in my life. I feel like she is a rare find and I plan to keep her forever <3

Thanks for participating in my ☼ 1 Day Giveaway ☼, your post was upvoted, resteemed and promoted in my group with more than 17k users. ☺

Awesome! Thank you so much :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kylaki to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Get your post resteemed over 90000+ followers and get upto $19+ value Upvote. Your post will skyrocket and give you maximum exposer.

Send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url you will get your post share over 30000+ followers and 1 upvote $1.5+ value.

Send 2 SBD or Steem with your post url you will get your post share over 30000+ followers and 1 upvote $3+ value.

Send 3 SBD or Steem with your post url you will get your post share over 60000+ followers and 1 upvote $5+ value.

Send 5 SBD or Steem with your post url you will get your post share over 90000+ followers and 1 upvote $9+ value.

See our all pakages at:

http://www.whaleboostup.ml

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94