What kind of friend are you???

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Friendship consists of a willing ear, an understanding heart and a helping hand...Author Frank Tyger.

What kind of friend are you? One who supports and encourages or one who pours cold water on plans. Ella Wilcox once said that in this earth you would find two kinds of people; those who lift and those who lean.

adventure-1807524_1280.jpg
Image Source

Those who lift are those who are positive about life,face life with so much enthusiasm and energy,make others feel good talking to them and add value to others,Those who lean are those who make others feel as if they cannot achieve anything, think of only themselves and in the process they take others down,have uninteresting point of view and take value away from others.

In life, when the going gets tough, we all need that push even if it is from a friend. It's one thing to be positive in a neutral environment, it's another to be an instrument of change in a negative environment, it's also another to be negative in both a neutral and negative environment. No one naturally wants to hang around someone who sends out negative vibes, someone who would not push them, someone who would drag them to a level of inactivity.

clasped-hands-541849_1280.jpg
Image Source

Do all the good you can,
to all the people you can,
the best way you can.

Be that kind of friend who wants to do all the good you can the best way you can. In any friendship, giving has never been easier, receiving has always been easier. It's just like building a house and taking down a house, it's much more easier to take down than to build. It takes only desire to be a lifter, it takes desire to be behind someone's smile, it takes desire to lift others up. No one wants to influence others negatively,we all want to influence others positively. I think most times influencing others negatively is what people do unconsciously, that's why being a lifter requires conscious and deliberate action.

Be that friend that sends out positive vibes, the little things you do for your friends everyday counts;your smile could lighten their day up, your words of encouragement can lift them up and not drag them down. You don't have to be rich to be the friend that lifts, you just have to care about your friends and show that you do, you won't let a day pass without doing things that lift your friends up.

people-2567915_1280.jpg
Image Source

No one wants to hang around people who don't make them feel good because no one likes being down. Being a lifter or influencing your friends positively would strengthen your current relationship with them and will certainly increase your circle of influence because people will always want to hang around you.
Be a lifter and not a leaner because friendship consist of a willing ear, an understanding heart and a helping hand.

I have few friends who are lifters in my life and I appreciate them. You may have friends who are lifters in your life, they take their time to encourage you to succeed. Take your time, think of them, reach out to them and appreciate them, tell them how awesome they have been because of the role they play in your life. It takes effort to be a lifter, appreciate them for their efforts! You would be glad you did!

Thanks for visiting my blog!

IMG-20180208-WA0000.jpg

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

A friend in need is a friend in deed. However, there is a saying in my country of origin that in order to see whether a person is a good friend, you should spend a bag of salt together.

Lol. What does spending a bag of salt together signify?

I'm a friend with weed type of friend.

@spellmaker. Hahahaha. What is a weed type of friend?

The one you smoke your weed with and talk about stuff.

This post remind me of the lyrics of the song "you raise me up"

You Raise Me Up
Josh Groban
When I am down, and, oh, my soul, so weary
When troubles come, and my heart burdened be
Then, I am still and wait here in the silence
Until you come and sit awhile with me
You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains
You raise me up to walk on stormy seas
I am strong when I am on your shoulders
You raise me up to more than I can be
You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains
You raise me up to walk on stormy seas
I am strong when I am on your shoulders
You raise me up to more than I can be
You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains
You raise me up to walk on stormy seas
I am…

Sometimes it so painful when your friends reject you when you are down and to add to a wounded soul they afflict you with words of discouragement. We must be our brothers keeper and love ourselves unconditionally. We must be freinds who sends waves of positivity that edifies the soul but must not be agent of persimism carring negativity that destroys a beautiful soul. Let stand by eachother. Thank for the amazing post and letting us know the kind of friends we should be.Your post have been chosen as the winner for @wafrica post of the day and have received 100% upvote courtesy @wafrica.curators.Keep using this amazing tag.
.....chosen by @steemgh

Well said @steemgh. If one must be a friend, then let him/her be a good friend. It makes life easier. Thanks so much for choosing this post for @wafrica.curators

long live @wafrica

I pray we all meet the Lifters friend, they will make our Earth journey so easy and we can both reach greater heights. No one wants a leaning friend. It slows the journey weighing you down.


@bigwaves

Well said @zoneboy. This is just a perfect summary of my blog post. Thanks for finding this work worthy of the #bigwaves upvote. Thanks to the #bigwaves community. #bigwaves is awesome. #bigwaves all the way!

It is very advisable to add values to the life of others than to pull their legs.
Life is like an edged sword. We must be careful with our actions towards others.
Thanks for sharing this great piece. @kweenbrand.

You are welcome. Thanks so much for stopping by!

I'm a friend who supports you whenever I can, says things right to your face when you've done something bad, will not tolerate, will express what i think but will respect your decision if you won't change your mind.

Okay. Beautiful!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kweenbrand from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wonderful uplifting words, and a good reminder for us to be as positive as we can towards others! Thank you for sharing this inspiration with #steemitbloggers 😊

Thanks for stopping by @thekittygirl. I so much appreciate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54357.85
ETH 2282.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31