Birthmonth Day Eleven: The car situation.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

My front tire exploded on the highway!

Yesterday, was a tough day for me. I was stuck in the office pushing paperwork for way too long. Normally, I am out in the field meeting with clients, but yesterday I couldn't get out. I needed an extra office day. I was getting cabin fever and although the office surprised us with an early birthmonth celebration, I couldn't shake the negative feelings.

The office October babies

This is the cake my mom purchased for day eleven of my birthmonth!


The cake was supposed to sweeten the crazy day. After spending two days in the office pricing deals, I was excited to get out and meet face to face with my clients. On my way to see my first client, my front left tire decided it was time to end its own life. It exploded and took a piece of my front bumper with it. Thankfully I didn't lose control and was able to safely pull over. I made the necessary phone calls and waited.


Three hours later...

The ride to the body shop


The three-hour wait was much needed. It is odd how much went wrong yesterday and how much it will cost me to fix. However, believe it or not, I felt so much better. I have been wanting a new car. This situation may be the opportunity I need to make that happen. I may get more from my old car through the insurance. I may be able to purchased a slightly used one with the money from the accident.

I will have to pay a deductible either way, but at least my car will be fixed. Everything that happened to me today was out of my control. I couldn't make the driver find me any quicker. I couldn't fix the damage myself. I couldn't prevent the situation or how I felt. I could, however, control how I acted/reacted and thought about it.

So, I thought about my savings that would cover all my expenses without putting me behind. I thought about my insurance that would cover me. I thought about how it could have been worse and was grateful it wasn't.

I needed a personal day to relax and unwind. I got exactly that! It was also torture. The increasing need to use the bathroom became almost unbearable. I didn't think I was going to make it friends, but I did.

Barely, but I did.


I came home to find one of these chilled and the other silently heated.

Can you guess which was which?

Ps: Birthmonth is about celebrating it all. Cheers to rolling with the punches!

PS: Looking for a witness to vote?


Vote for him by clicking HERE!

Sort:  

What a mix of sad things and happy things. You will come out of this ahead, no worries. Time for a new car!

Sorry to hear of your days dilemmas. Glad we got to see that fantastic smile at the end! Everything will work out for you because your a positive awesome person! Enjoy the rest of your birth month KE 🎂

awww, Ga! You and your kind words!

Wow what a crazy day! Sorry to hear that some of those things happened but I love the way you looked it at all and didn't fret as much knowing you couldn't control it. Plus, in a weird way you ended up getting what you wanted so that is so cool.

I think it's "rolling with the punches", not "rolling with the punishes", but I like your version better!

My PC finally got uncontrollably sick, so that cost me $300+ to fix. So I feel your pain...

Oh and I'm planning to roll my creative project out very soon (with my very amateurish voice work, haha)

Enjoy the cake!

Its life, there comes up & down,
its always fun, when you are around.

Happy Birthmonth Kubby :]

So sorry you had such a bad day. At least it ended well, with an empty bladder and some cake and wine!

I think God gives us days like these to remind us who in always in control - even when we think we are. :)

I hope you get a new(er) car out of this Kubby.

I saw the estimated and they want to try to fix it :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63326.84
ETH 2648.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82