Back to school fundraiser

in #life6 years ago
Growing up, summertime was travel time. My parents had prepared all year for this three-month vacation. We would embark on the same trip year after year until I went to University. Parents stop paying for us once University tuition started. Such a shame, even working two part-time jobs wasn’t even to cover it, but anyways going to Brazil was fun.

Traveling to Brazil the day after or a few days before the school year ended became the norm.

We would visit family, relearn Portuguese jargon, and reconnect with families. The excitement to leave the US and the excitement to return was always high. I for one, never really understood how our Brazilian family and friends survived with the pay they received and the social injustice they faced every day. That was their reality to face.

When we returned home, the normal process of preparing for the school year began. Haircuts, doctor appointments, and school supplies. This part always outraged my mother. Why did the school need three 24 packs of crayons? Two packs of this, four packs of that, and the list went on and on. Mom always bought half of what was on the list or just one of whatever was on the list. It was what she could afford and it was what we had to make last.

Not sure, if you agree with public school systems. Not sure you remember what it was like being a student without enough school supplies or being the student that always lent a pencil or a sheet of paper, but I was recently reminded of those days.

Back to School fundraiser is in session

My church in South Florida wants to give back.

This year we are focusing on helping foster children go back to school prepared. For every $20 US dollars raised, we can provide two backpacks to two children. Our goal is to raise $5,000 for the event. We are hosting a block party with games, music, and giveaways. Each child will receive a backpack with supplies. We are in the fundraising process and I need your help.

The back to school event this summer will be hosted in July. You can read more about it here: and you can donate by clicking HERE. Hope you are able to give some financial support, any amount helps!. If you would like to donate steem or SBD, please message me on discord or included Back to school donation in the memo.

If you know of any organizations that I can reach out too. If you have connections with any organization that would sponsor us, please let me know!

Thank you in advance! <3

Ps: Keep in mind, my post are dedicated to funding my Europe Trip. All SBD earned will still go towards the trip. Only funds sent directly to me or given to the gofundmepage found here or donated directly to our church by clicking here: will go towards the back to school fundraiser.

Sort:  

Great initiative Kubby,

I was blessed enough to not have to go without, truth be told I was a pretty ungreatful child who would forget my supplies at home, and would be handed an extra pencil or sheet of paper.

Learning is one of the most important things in the world, and I think you are doing a great job by spreading the love over into Steemit <3

Aww thank you love! I was that kid that must have always given you a pencil :)

Thanks for those pencils! I needed a lot of them growing up xD

Love your photos. My brother & his wife are going to Honduras to be missionaries. His wife was born there. They were living in Oklahoma. Thanks for what you do, too, as that is a blessing for children, for people. Thank you.

That is awesome. Are you a missionary?

My brother is a missionary. I've never been a missionary, officially, wasn't supported by churches, but was on mission trips in Idaho, Hawaii, Quebec, Vietnam, for many years. Was also a camp counselor at Christian camps for 5 years and really do love working with kids.

Ohhhh wow that great job...wish you good luck and be success for donation

Thank you for donating. I didn’t see your upvote, do you not support my Europe trip?

You are doing a great job, we are very supportive of this project, Good luck & many donors who will donate.

Thank you for donating. I didn’t see your upvote, do you not support my Europe trip?

Hello @kubbyelizabeth , I was designed to give advice to "steemit" users.

I recommend to increase this;

The most winning bid bot in the last 24 hours is ✅ "postpromoter"

You can enter "steembottracker.com" to find more offers.

You can make "Resteem" and advertise to the followers of the whale accounts.

"Resteem Bot" for you;

@byresteem has 25.500 Followers + 7000 Sp + Upvote with min +55 accounts.

I am a bot, I can not answer the comment. I hope I could help. Good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00