One tiny step towards having a smart home...

in #life6 years ago

IMG_6854.jpg

Sometimes I do wonder to what heights technological development will lead us. When I was a kid my uncle sometimes told me that our future homes will communicate with us and we can turn appliances on and off from a distance... Well it all sounded like mystery to me at that time.

I remember my granny washing in her old washing machine with a huge rotation wheel at the bottom and using a tumble dryer afterwards. Clothes were rinsed in the bathtub before they went into the machines. It was a day-long programme to do the washing. And it was only one of the household duties... She went to the market everyday to collect the ingredients for the lunch, as there weren't so many half- or ready-made dishes at the shops (and also the fridge capacity was much smaller).

How much easier it is today! My 10-year-old washing machine broke down the other day, so we needed a replacement. I browsed the internet for a day until I found another machine with similar functions and size. (Size does matter in our bathroom, because we do not have much space - so I needed a slim item with a washing-drying function.) I was laughing when I started to run over the list of features, as it said "wifi". C'mon, why does a washing machine need wifi?

Apparently it turned out to be a useful function: I can start the washing remotely from my phone and follow the washing process, the time until finish etc. via my phone. It measures clothes before washing and adjusts the washing parameters accordingly... Smart, isn't it?

So what I thought to be science fiction in my childhood is real today... Next step is the frigde telling you that you have run out of eggs... Ooops, that has already been invented... One day we will wake up in a world when machines will outsmart us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83