A Day at Sherwood Forest Faire - Austin's Renaissance Faire

in #life7 years ago (edited)

image

I first discovered RenFaires when I was 26 or so. Been going almost every year since.

image

I've been to several RenFaires in Texas, but Sherwood is by far my favorite. It's smaller, less crowded, and most importantly--it's run by people who seem to have a respect for the Earth, and favor selling handmade items instead of a bunch of mass-produced crap from China.

image
(The King's swing is my favorite!)

Sherwood Faire is located just east of Austin, in Bastrop county--an odd patch of Texas that resembles the Louisiana pine forests.

image

image

We watched fire juggling and a knife throwing show, and saw giant draft horses. We also ran into some of our best friends there!

image

We didn't catch the falconry show or the joust!
Another time this season, perhaps.

My best pair of sandals for everyday wear came from a vendor at Sherwood several years ago. $80 shoes, but they are still almost as good as new.

image
(Playing with a mechanical knight-fight toy)

We watched the live music, and I got myself a lovely dumbek drum to play.

We also threw tomatos at a guy whose job it is to yell out insults at passersby.

image

There's so much to see and do at the Faire...and everything's more fun with ample amounts of Thorin's Viking Mead--YUM.

Have you ever been to a Renaissance Faire?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48