You Peaked A Long Time Ago - You Just Don't Know It | The Age You Peaked At Everything According To Science.

in #life7 years ago

Check out this Business Insider article that has a nifty visual on the approximate age that we peak at certain things.

age you peak at everything.png

At 43, I'm well aware that my best days physical are behind me. My metabolism is shot. My hair is thinning. Sometimes I can't remember things that I know I know. Yes, it's the hard cold reality of growing old.

According the the chart my salary will peak pretty soon (48), I will peak at understand emotions (51) and i'll my math skills will start to decline (although I think this happened decades ago).

growing old.jpg

It's not all that bad. I can stop my wondering if I'll ever win a nobel prize. No use in trying if science says those days have past. Ditto for running a marathon. At least I can blame science when my wife wants something done pronto. I can just say my ability to focus is on the decline :)

On the bright side these um..milestones on the chart are averages. You are probably an extraordinary person that will beat the odds! Best not to dwell on what's to come and just take life in day by day.

As my 90 year old grandfather likes to say: growing old is a privilege, that many are denied (he also says that at his age he only buys ripe bananas!)

So here's to giving science the middle finger!

Hope to see y'all at my centenarian 100 meter race!

Sort:  

I believe we're all different, and that science can't explain it all like that, life would look very boring if literally everyone would be like that.

The illustration is an approximation when people usually peak, but you are right, everyone is different.

Thanks for the comment!

No problem, I do trust science, I'm a rationalist, but for a certain amount of things, its accuracy depends more on who does what, like if someone smokes a lot or does a lot of sports, but I agree science is good for studying general cases.

Excellent post. I wonder where the "learn crypto" marker would go?
What a learning curve!

At my age it must be close or I passed it. I won't be surprised if that were true. ha

Well... thanks, now you've made me depressed :(

Oh please Pandora! I seem to remember that you wrote that you are only in your 30s. You don't get to start saying those things until you are my age! Anyway, don't blame me..blame science :)

(some 50 year old will now yell at me)

Well yeah but when it said my peak life satisfaction is already in the past, that pretty much settles it then doesn't it?! The only thing I have to look forward to is four more years of pay increase and possibly making a nobel-prize awarding discovery (still working on it)!

Correction: you have five more years to beat the average. The oldest nobel winner was 90!

I guess I've always been more of a marathon runner than a sprinter! I probably won't be doing the nobel prize until age 140 or so..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57