You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Truth Seeking and The Problem With Trusting Personal Experience

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Good job on this summary. (I suspect from reading my recent content as it mirrors it)

See what happens when you talk about higher quality, actual meaningful subjects? You get a decent payout. Keep it up. But referencing where you recently learned this from might be nice too, especially for those who want to learn more ;)

For people who would like to learn more, I also talk about the solipsistic limitations to accepting truth, and the need to verify the demonstrability of truth.

But to say "true beliefs" is to say you don't know if they are true, but believe they are and are correct but have not demonstrated it. If something is demonstrable, it's no longer a belief, it's a truth.

I also talk about the limitation of personal experience as you specifically mention, mediation, religious and psychedelics.

Good summary of issues.

Take care. Peace.

Sort:  

Hey @krnel I believe I did come across your article briefly as well as a few others in the past couple weeks but no one specific post spurred my article. The real motivating factor was some interesting conversations taking place on Steemit.chat and Steemspeak. Maybe you were even a part of those conversations but there was no intentional avoidance of linking to others. Thanks for providing the links to your content though. I'll go back now and reread them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59