You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The distinction between talking racist and being racist

in #life6 years ago

I never thought people would call someone racist based on a certain food choice.

Introducing these;

Jelly beans.

I’m just going to say it, I don’t like the black jelly beans. I hate the taste. However I do really like the white ones. This exact conversation happened with a friend of mine.

Friend: “What’s your favourite lollies (candy)”

Me: “I love jelly beans, but I’m not so keen on the black ones”

Friend: “You can’t say that, that’s so racist”

Like really, how on earth is this racist? How is liking certain jelly beans “showing discrimination or prejudice to a particular race”?

That’s right it’s not!

Please people don’t associate food taste with racism, I’ll be honest it’s just plain stupid.

Sort:  

That is comical. I think people can like whatever they like, it's called qualia and it is what distinguishes different lifeforms. I don't think it matters what someone chooses to eat. The same can apply to physical attraction, as some will find different types of people more attractive than other types of people.

It is only racism if they try to tell us all one type is the standard which we must all find attractive. It is only racism if they try to create a standard of beauty which excludes or biases in favor of certain races.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67403.09
ETH 3246.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65