Transplanting My Rooty Garlic Cloves

in #life6 years ago (edited)

What's up Steemit friends!

Three days ago, I decided to root some garlic using a shotglass with water in it enough to touch the garlic's cloves' bottoms. I was thinking about this a lot of times before but I always forgot and always ran out of garlic each time I wanted to try.

I wonder, why not grow our own garlic so we can have endless supply and never have to spend buying them? They can get so pricey here in the Philippines by the way.

IMG_20180410_162954.jpg

I thought of this as an experiment that is why I just tried two cloves. If this thrives after transplanting, I would definitely plant some more in a bigger pot.

Here is what I did...

IMG_20180410_164723.jpg

Since I do have lots of ice cream tubs at home(I saved them because I always knew I am going to use it someday and this is it), I decided to make them planters for my spices and herbs someday. My first plant to occupy one of them are these two garlic cloves.

IMG_20180410_164803.jpg

Using a pointy metal, I had a lighted candle and heat its tip on it and poke holes on my ice cream tubs to make a good water drainage.

IMG_20180410_164739.jpg

After that, I added some vermicast to fill the tub. You can use ordinary dirt but if you do have compost soil that makes it better.

IMG_20180410_170115.jpg

Make holes in the dirt to make room for the garlic and their roots. Transplant them and cover with another layer of soil.

IMG_20180410_165920.jpg

Ta-dah! and it is done. Dont forget to water them.

IMG_20180410_171433.jpg

I place the planter in our veranda so it can get the sunshine it needs but I might move them somewhere one of these days where it can get direct sunlight ones its leaves are poking out.

I hope you find this post helpful and thanks for visiting me today! 😘 Updating soon. 😘🙂


@hr1

Sort:  

Not sure about in your area, but in the southern US I have good luck with simply separating the cloves and planting them, root side down. They are very easy to take root without rooting before planting.

hi @sotall 😊 it's such a good news you planted them successfully. im keeping my fingers crossed. i just did not put them directly on dirt because i tend to over water plants and that might just rot the cloves. yes they are separated, they're just 2 cloves in that pot now. it's mostly sunny here now too so i hope they'll thrive in their new home but i might try your techniques next time. thanks😊

@koshin Have you ever heard of Air Pruning? It's a method i use to promote the growth of strong roots and to combat issues like overwatering and mold.

no i havent yet @designstogrow :) but im about to look it up now☺️ thanks!

Good homesteading @koshin. Thanks for sharing informative post. Keep it up!

thanks also @natz04. you're welcome 🙂

Welcome also friend! Keep steeming! Goodluck

WARNING! The comment below by @suryaking2085 leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

thank you @guard for the warning ☺️ definitely wont open the links.

Great idea. I have a small balcony and I have tried to grow onion and chilly. I hope someday you can send me the photo of growing garlic, ok?

Free Auto Upvotes! Plus you get 0.1 STEEM Free just to signup! http://j.gs/Anmi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42