Garden Wishlist 10 (06142018@07:11PM) : Stevia

in #life6 years ago (edited)

A rainy evening everyone!

It is not only ornamental plants that I am obsessing about but sone herbs too. My most favorite herb is the Stevia Rebaudiana or widely known as Candyleaf or Sugarleaf.

It is known for its sweet leaves that makes a healthy substitute for sugar. This herb has lots of benefits besides its flavor.


source

It is known and widely used for its medicinal properties. A good sugar regulator for diabetics which is said to be 200 times sweeter than sugar but without the calories, antioxidant, energy booster and a remedy to skin conditions. It loves the warm and bright sun, moist, sandy and loamy soil which is acidic in nature.

I personally would love it in my garden because of its Salvia-like foliage. Its sweetness and medicinal values are huge bonus treat for me, I don't mind having it everywhere in my yard because that is totally sweet besides aloe veras and lavender!


source

I am quite obsessed about having it I must admit and constantly checking the plant I bought few weeks ago daily, hoping I could propagate it once the stem is thick enough.

What is your most favorite herb? Mine is Stevia. 🙂😊


@yoo1900 @curie @slowwalker @mbp @jerrybanfield @bayanihan @buildawhale @rocky1 @hr1 @bue @firepower @s4s @bayanihan @surpassinggoogle @emperorofnaps

Sort:  

I have stevia in my garden and i love growing it. I sometimes just pick a leaf and eat it fresh but i do notice that it makes my stomach hurt. I dont know why but i get stomach aches after eating stevia. Great post and thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64143.01
ETH 3154.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86