You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mansplaining: Thoughts on it from a man.

in #life8 years ago

Mansplaining is a very good term. It describes a reality that is all too apparent for women, and even for me who is a man. Men tend to not belive that women are competent. THis is the whole reason behind mansplaining.
Most feminists, female,male transexuals,intersexuals or whatever, are reasonable.
I myself as a queerfeminist think that gender is a social construct.But we still have to observe the power structures that exist in society.
You are right, of course, that there are certain contexts where women are seen as more competent, for instance childcare.
My best defense for the men, is that they tend to brag and pretend that they know more than they do,even to themselves.
But even more to women.

Sort:  

check out this cuck "womansplaing" to us all. :/

Interesting troll tactics. So basically you try to shame me by associating me with
lack of manliness, and being gay. I found this article, people who want to understand your troll tactics could read up on it:
http://www.wehuntedthemammoth.com/2016/04/06/why-are-the-internets-worst-people-so-obsessed-with-the-word-cuck/
Btw, all your trolling is on the blockchain. I will be collecting the evidence.

Haha, nothing to do with the post i guees then. LMFAO!
collect away. another stupid stalker. -smh-
I think it is funny that because i used the word cuck you try to lump me in with a group of people.
Good job.
have fun with acting a fool. just proves how people take offence to a stupid fukking word. xD
maby i should have said mansplaining then you would be ok with it? -smh-

https://steemit.com/flaggot/@skeptic/another-proud-flaggot-kooshikoo

You are such a sad little troll.

what ever you have to tell your self to sleep at night. xD

This is definitely what I've experienced. My work sector is largely female orientated with few to little men, and I keep telling people that yes, women have egos too, and women womansplain! Hah.

I too think it's a social construct. Any tag that we have is used to segregate us. I hate it. Why can't we just be human and work together, right? :)

I agree. But we have to acknowledge that there are certain power structures in men´s favour. Men have privilege. It´s important for us to se this.
That does not mean that we should feel guilty, or that women are not guilty of the same things. Of course they are. Women can be dominant, unfair,violent,sexually oppressive,etc.etc.
And men can be kind,passive,caring,etc.
This is obvious. But the fact remains. Men are dominant in society. Men are the norm. Very often you hear men talk, assuming that others are men, when they are making a general statements. http://www.refinery29.com/2015/12/99295/subtly-sexist-comments-to-women
When they speak 50 percent of the time, they are perceived as speaking more.
For reference, read this report on listener bias.
Just one example, I will be happy to give more.
I have myself been angry with feminists seeming to blame me for what men in general do, and this seems really unfair.
I am not all men, I am just me.
I have the impression that you have a similar feeling.
But let´s not let this cloud our judgement.

Definitely. I totally recognise that it's an imbalance. Especially in the upper echelons of society, where most of the dominant figures are rich, white, men. I also recognise my advantage in life in certain areas.

But remember - those of us at the bottom, where we have no audiences to address, and just plod along with our business, are pretty much good intentioned well mannered men. People like you, I and the rest have to go with the flow of patriarchal society, and try it to make it better for others we come into contact with.

I just get angered when I'm tagged with the same brush for being something I can't change lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08