Confessions of a perfectionist procrastinator, or why I will graciously allow myself to write short posts.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I make new Steemit articles every day.

In my head. Somehow they always lack some research and analysis,
and I store them away in a mental folder, called:
Excellent article by kooshikoo, will be finished later!
However, I'm always too tired, the task I made for myself seems
too big, and anyway I need to learn markdown properly first.

I always hold myself to high standards,
and I hate not being really good at what I do,
at least the things I care about,
and I really care about how I express myself.
Quite honestly I suffer from a certain performance anxiety.
But I have been suffering from sleeping problems,
I have ADHD and I have burnout symptoms.
So I will allow myself to write short posts,
like this one, which isn't even properly centered,

( and seems devoid of any proper point,)

because my tired brain can't remember how to center in markdown.
Now this post turned out more whiny than intended. Whatever!

From now on I will try to write several posts per week, even if they might be short, and not too brilliant.

Because that is the only way it will ever happen.

Sort:  

Share your thoughts, amigo :) There is no universal perfect post: there will always be people who like your thoughts snd people who do not care about them. So do not hesitate to try something new :)

That's great, I completely understand. I have like 20 topics that I have written down that I still want to write about. Good for you for being willing to let your free expression flow in your writing.

P.S. Here is how you center something
< center >words you want centered < /center >
(without having any of the spaces in between.

Thank you, I appreciate the input, and the help!

there isn't markdown for center, just use center html, like this:

Centered!

Thank you. I'm terrible with practical stuff. My mind is made for abstract thinking!

I also learned if you do this:

<div class="pull-right">text,
picture 
or video</div>

you get the following result:

text,
picture
or video
and the stuff inside the div will go to the right half. you can also use pull-left, and it goes to the left instead, to maximum 50% of the column width.

Damn! I had no idea we could do that! That looks nice!

Thank you, maybe I can keep on making posts with bad formatting, and you can teach me in the comment section?!

sure, I am still learning. I know html and css pretty good but markdown is more limited, though some things work.

don't forget also you can edit your posts for 24 hours as well.

i forget what the preview aspect ratio is exactly but if you make the head image match it fits exactly. it is somewhere between 16:10 and 4:3

Thank you, I really appreciate the support. I noticed that the bottom of my Jackie Chan meme is cropped. Do you know how to fix that?
Btw I will see you in 4 days, in Amsterdam!

Short posts is the way to go if you don't have the time.

Thanks, that's exactly what I want to hear!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55