The Meaning of Organizing

in #life8 years ago

Hello Steemers!

It has been two weeks since my last post. Some may say I was procrastinating…I say I was pondering. In addition to staring off into space contemplating the meaning of life as Koda ran circles around me at the park, I have spent the beginning of October moving into a new place following a rather stressful life transition. Throughout the endeavor, I had realized two things:

  1. Koda has more toys than my sister and I have had combined growing up
  2. Organizing is not simply a skill that can increase efficiency of a space or one’s use of time. Rather organizing a space, in an intentional way, creates a foundation that supports the experience and events following the move.

Within the last 5 years, I have moved to a different apartment and/or city 7 times. With each move I placed great emphasis on having everything in it’s place, having all books, clothes, and knick-knacks arranged in a functional and aesthetically pleasing way. With each move, I refused to sleep until every box was unpacked and every item had a designated place. This time around, I had realized that it wasn’t obsession compulsion that led me to this pattern; rather it was my way of coping with the uncertainty of the changes in my life that caused me to move.

Over the years, it has become apparent that once I lose sense of motivation to keep myself and the space I live in organized/structured, my motivation for my goals tend to fly out the window as well. With that, I set a goal for this new apartment…keep it neat, functional, and a representation of the true me; with this foundation set, I can concentrate on that pesky “meaning of life” question.

To those wondering about Koda, he has made a successful transition.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58415.58
ETH 2485.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39