You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: There is no Truth - But there is none (Featuring New Author @shortcut)

in #life8 years ago

Thanks for your post, @shortcut. I was also brought up in a religion who believed they knew the Truth. (note the capital T!) Without naming names, the church was known as an ecclesia, we went to "the meeting" on Sunday morning, and they felt a great kinship to Israel. That might be enough to tell you whether it's the same one or not. I also left at about 18 years old, but it's not so easy to leave the conditioning behind. Although my journey since then hasn't been exactly the same as yours, we've crossed paths a few times and are probably not so far from each other now. You may find it interesting to look into Ho'oponopono. It's on my list of things to post about, maybe I'll get to it soon. All the best for your continuing journey.

Sort:  

Hi @kiwideb, thanks a lot for sharing your story.

Although I guess I had been in a different sect, the patterns of this kind of religion are very similar. I'm sure even people that had been raised into one of the so called 'world-religions' might more or less have to deal with the Truths those religions presented them. The 'conditioning' that happenes in the early years is really one of the hardest things to overcome.

I'm sure there are many people out there, that share a similar background story and it really feels good to know, that you also chose to start a journey to find your own Truth. Well, questioning and learning is one of the main incentives of life in my opinion.

I took a brief look into the Ho'oponopono wiki-article and it sounded really interesting. Can't wait to read your article and your personal experiences about it. I also followed you. Would be nice to keep in contact. All the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65