You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This series of stories will be titled ‘I’m surprised I turned out as well as I did, given my childhood…’ 10

in #life7 years ago

My maternal grandmother was from Yorkshire and was also a woman of some substance. She lived near us, so was part of our daily lives. I remember her rice pudding, her apple pie and jam tarts. On a special occasion, she'd make (jelly) trifle. I remember Sunday roast dinners (lunches) at her house. But I can't for the life of me remember Xmas Days. Isn't that odd?

Two generations on, Xmas Days are a bit of a palaver - Dad, Mum, Mum's second husband, 4 children and spouses, 8 grandchildren and most of them have partners, and the great grandkids starting to come along. Sometimes my aunty and one of my cousins. Seldom less than 20 of us. And food for miles, enough for 3 times as many people.

Sort:  

You can't remember any Christmas day? :(

LOL Yes! I once made Christmas Eve dinner for 28 people - it was supposed to be 'buffet style' but ended up a full-blown, sit-down meal. I even fully catered for the vegetarian - and he didn't like anything touching his food that had touched meat - so I had to keep the poking utensils separate for his food too!

It should have been a meal for fewer people, but I counted on some not being able to make it or cancelling. No such luck! They all came and we had a 'plus one' when my friend's son dropped in unexpectedly. He was on leave from the army and it would have been rude to say no to him.

There was, of course, plenty of 'snap' (food) for everyone, including the Christmas pud!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67878.14
ETH 2626.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64