You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should A Man Be Able to Fight Back When A Woman Strikes Him (Extremely Controversial Topic)

in #life8 years ago

My take:

  • If you can defuse the situation or get out of it somehow without resorting to violence, that's the best solution - whether it's a man or a woman attacking you.
  • If you (or another person) is in danger of death or serious injury, you do what you have to do, again regardless of gender.
  • In the middle ground, that's where it gets a bit more tricky. I don't think anyone should just stand there and take a beating. Maybe you use as much force as you need to, but no more?? And afterwards think about how you got in the situation, and whether there was something you could have done to avoid it, or any way to avoid it in future.
Sort:  

Great reply. I'm relieved I'm not the only girl with this sentiment, as I said in my comment, women like the one in the video are an embarrassment to our gender, actually maybe to mankind in general...lawsuit, really? That doesn't shout 'cry for attention' at all. I avoid insufferable individuals such as her, haha!

Anybody who acts like that is an embarrassment to mankind really. Luckily I haven't some across much of that behaviour.

I've often wondered "Do people actually behave this way outside of television?" That probably says more about the company we keep than anything else :)

True again. It's decades since I went to the pub regularly, that could explain it. The people I hang out with, we're more likely to sing too raucously, dance too violently, laugh, cry or be silly, when drunk.

Decades? That can't be true...well if it is, you are very young at heart. It is you I've seen on noname's comments, right?

Oh, I didn't see the rest of your comment :) Sounds like you are acquainted with my friends :) A delightful bunch. You have a very graceful, peaceful way about you. I have to follow you now, learn your secrets.

(Have to answer here as we've run out of depth)
It is true :-) See my posts on my favourite music and you'll see how long that covers!
I like to think I'm still young at heart, and it's lovely of you to say I have a peaceful, graceful way. I hope that's true too :-)
I've seen you on nonames posts too. I'm surprised I hadn't already followed you, but am now.

Awesome! Yes, I will check those out. I am right now recovering from the amazing intro @merej99 gave me for her Friday post. I just saw it, sorry I feel like I'm bragging now, ha! I love music...if you look on my page you will see a number of posts with a guy on guitar-that's my brother (he's my sweetheart) and I'm encouraging him to get on here. I've been really involved with the music scene to help pave the way for him. And I'm going to stop talking before this is a book, haha!

The regret probably set in 5 seconds after he landed that hit wishing he would have just walked away. Unfortunately they were probably both drunk and not thinking clearly at the time.

Yes, unfortunately that takes all the rational thought out of a situation. Not that it would be easy to be rational in that circumstance anyway.

I read another report where he was claiming he wasn't drunk and wasn't drinking that night. He was saying that that girl and her friends were making racial remarks and spitting on him and his friends.

Sigh. That really is not a way to be, is it? But for now, we have to deal with people who are like that as best we can. And hope that our race is evolving.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57136.05
ETH 2350.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40