Slowly At First, And Then All At Once

in #life7 years ago

image.png

Lately this phrase has been going through my head. You might have heard it:

How does change happen? Slowly at first, and then all at once.

Here's the weird thing. When I consult the great Internet oracle about who wrote/said it, everything points to a similar, but different quote written by Ernest Hemingway in The Sun Also Rises:

“How did you go bankrupt?"
"Two ways. Gradually, then suddenly.”

That's a bit more ominous. Does anyone know the origins of the first quote? I'm interested.

Most of us can relate to this idea of change taking forever at first. We take small steps that seem abstracted from our current lives. Then, all of a sudden, the big day is here, everything happens and the change is complete. Slowly at first, and then all at once.

Like a mechanical apparatus that is poised, waiting for an optimal weight to accumulate, suspended, hovering, until it is suddenly launched forward into swift action.

So, what's my point? I wish I knew! I feel like that apparatus, one drop or one cog tooth away from springing (Hm - Spring?) into action.

What's that called in science? The capacity for action is energy and I am talking about potential energy? Feel free to help me out here.

Anyway - change is coming, Jon Snow.

Happy Friday!

Sort:  

Happy Friday! It's almost like that moment when a roller coaster is released at the top of the hill.

Exactly. Do roller coasters use gravity to descend?

They do!

Reminds me of cryptos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.20
ETH 2421.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63