BRACE UP YOURSELF, YOU ARE MORE THAN THAT CERTIFICATE

in #life6 years ago

IMG_20181019_153425_436.jpg
In less than 2 hours, I was receiving the boss's handshake and was told to resume for work the following day.
They didn't even ask about my results; they didn't ask about any certificate.
You know, I used to think you need some big qualifications; the Bsc, the Msc, the OON and the GCFRNs before you can get a quality job.
So, when I finished from school and the result was not out on time... And a couple of issues arose from here and there, I felt threatened.
My thoughts were simple. "If I don't have this result/certificate on time, I will not be able to secure a good job if I decide to get one now."
I carried those myopic thoughts for a very long time.
Until I decided to get a job one day somewhere in between my loop of rise and fall. I saw an opening for a graphics designer in an Ad agency, so, I said to myself, let's go and show these people some of what's in this brain.
Even though I was a beginner graphics designer. I had just learned a few things on Corel draw and fireworks. I told myself I could become one of the best graphics designers in less than 3 months if I choose to.
So, the interview started and I just told them point blank "I am not really a graphics designer but I have a lot of things you might not want to miss."
I told them I could write winning business proposals faster than most people, I told them I am a business writer, I told them how I could add value to the company.
In the next few minutes, I was there on the system with an assignment to write one of those proposals I claimed I could write faster than most people using one of the briefs they gave to me.
At the end of the day, I became the boss's special boy; the boy who delivers like a saviour...
They never asked for my credentials. They never asked until I decided to quit the job.
The truth is that, in the midst of this massive job scarcity, there will always be a job for you, if you start looking for a company to help instead of looking for a company to help you.
Don't let your fear hold you back, take a good look within... What value can you deliver? Forget that paper (certificate) in your hands! Which companies or persons might your value be of benefit to? Brace up yourself, strategize on how to market your stuff and sell to them and take immediate massive actions.
Who knows? You might even be better off as a freelancer that is helping multiple companies instead of looking for one company to help you; to give you some peanuts and tell you to sit down there and do some boring 9-5 stuff everyday.
I have turned down about 4 or 5 full time job offers in the last 3 months. Some of them ended up hiring me as a work from home consultant.
If it could happen for a not too intelligent guy like me, then it can be for you too...
You are unstoppable.
You are unstoppable. But you may never know unless you try.
You. May. Never. Know.

Note:I will be posting jobs vacancies here.i am From Lagos Nigeria. Your comments are appreciated.

Sort:  

Interesting story. Yes, sometimes one gets lucky, the employer would be much more interested in your "handywork" than in your qualification. Its good to have some qualities that would be of kin interest to the employer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79