Sexuality and Body Image

in #life7 years ago

There is a little girl in my life, she 7 years old and she thinks she's fat. She's not, but that's not the issue, the issue is body image in a child, at any age it is not cool, but it seems to be starting younger now than ever.

I'm not going to go into details about the child's experience because I did not ask her permission to post about intimate details in her life.

Every so often this precious girl springs life issues on me that I only realize in the moment that I am so utterly unequipped to support her through. I do my best in the moment, and then think of all the brilliant things I could have said days after the incident.

I only have these fleeting moments of opportunity when she opens up to me to help guide her to be able to face these issues on her own within herself as she lives and grows.

But how can I guide her if I haven't faced the issue within myself in my own life. Words are basically empty when you speak without having actually walked the process in awareness and made a change within yourself, because children are too perceptive and they see the truth.

The truth is that I am not completely comfortable in my own skin. I fear very much to become overweight and to not be seen as attractive. I have worshiped my sexuality as a top asset since a very young age, and used it to develop my self-image, my value and my worth in so many ways. This has been disastrous in my life, my relationships, and most of all: My relationship with myself.

It reminds me of a quote from the commencement address by David Foster Wallace Kenyan College: "Worship beauty and you will die a million deaths before they ever put you in the ground."

So, how can I humbly support this brilliant bundle of innocence to face one of the most challenging aspects in a woman's life? The answer is that I have to do it for myself first. If I can do it for me, get to know the details of the experience, walk a process of change in complete awareness of what I am doing, then I will be more prepared to speak in those candid moments that I am never expecting.

"If you don't know what the fuck you are doing, how can you possibly teach anyone else?" - Bernard Poolman.

How do you walk a process in complete awareness? Writing and practical application. Trial and error. Self-introspection and living experience.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to judge my body in any way whatsoever.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to judge my body as beautiful and sexy, looking at it in the mirror and fueling my ego, imagining others thinking about my body in admiration and jealousy, creating a misplaced value and worth on body-judgement, wherein I set myself up for insecurity within myself because in not getting the attention or reactions/compliments from others, I begin to fear that my body is not good enough, is too fat, too imperfect, instead of developing a supportive relationship with my body, based in common sense and practicality, focusing on nutrition and exercise as the basis of the relationship.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to fear becoming fat within the belief that I would lose my value and worth in society and be seen as less-than, less important, less worthy.

I forgive myself for NOT accepting and allowing myself to accept and love myself unconditionally.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to become brainwashed by media, television and advertisements selling me an image of what a woman should be, to the degree that I have believed it is my own value system, my own judgment and my own thought.

I will continue to walk this process to see how I have misguided my relationship with my physical body over the years, not only for me, but also for a young girl that I may have the opportunity to plant some seed so that she doesn't repeat the same mistake most women make in terms of less then optimal body image.

Sort:  

I get the sentiment, but I would suggest that you haven't gotten to the root of the issue. Meaning, if it's been "wrong" for you to sustain your sense of self worth from beauty or sexiness, what would it be "right" to gain your sense of self worth from? Intelligence? If so, why is it anymore real or valued than beauty? Isn't it too mostly inherited? Even if not, doesn't it, like beauty, also need to be cultivated and maintained? Doesn't it, like sex appeal, eventually fade in old age? If not intelligence, then...what is the source of your self worth? Humanness? Is that really the answer? Everyone is equally worthy just becasue they are human? We can say that all day long, but I respectfully suggest that nobody really believes that in their gut. If everyone is equally worthy then worth has no meaning. In short, I would encourage you not to beat yourself up for having valued your beauty. It's as worthy of value as anything else in your life, including intelligence or humanness. All things are temporary. All things end. Beauty. Intelligence. Life. Only when you recognize that worth has no absolute meaning--that worth is an illusion, the collective appraisal of various self-interested egos is all--can you really offer your child friend truthful advice. Well, that's my humble opinion anyway. Take it for what its worth (which is just as much as any other opinion).

Thank you for your comment!
I agree that there could be a healthy starting point within the self-relationship with beauty and sexiness, and I intend to get there. But for me, at a young age I can distinctly remember making up my mind that that is all I need to strive for and attain in order to have a good life, be taken care of and be happy. You can imagine that this failed miserably, over and over!

I do in fact see that we all have equal value and worth in the world. I would say life itself is where the value is, and we are all equally alive. I am not more alive than you, for example. So I would say that the worth is already there.
Ask a mother about the value of life. When a baby is born, it is the most precious thing to the parents. The baby does not have to earn that.
I think we separate ourselves from that value and worth through our actions through not honouring life, through valuing piece-meal versions of ourselves.
Why shouldn't it be possible to value ourselves as life again? We may have to change many things about ourselves, but isn't that what living is all about?

I had the same challenges with my daughter, at roughly the same age. I don't know what the answer is, and it often feels like even if I do find the right thing to say, it'll be drowned out by the world around her. But we are trying to focus on all the great things our bodies enable us to do, instead of on how they look.

I think we have to see, realize and understand for ourselves how to not have our own principles drowned out by the world around us. Then we can be a solid example for our children - no one and nothing else will have a bigger impact on them than ourselves, so let's be the best version of ourselves possible so that we can teach them what that means!

i am not a parent , but have you tried to guide her to eating healthy ? and foods rich in nutrents vitamins ? for example instead of drinking a boxed juice have a fresh real juice ? and cut the hidden sugar foods? High glycemic foods can mess your mood really bad when the glycemic index is crashing.
Or instead of eating a crape make her a egg-oat crepe with natural honey & cinnamon on top!

Thank you for the suggestion. Interestingly enough, her mother is very conscious of healthy eating. This child is not at all overweight, but is a solid little girl. It is incredible how difficult it is to avoid sugar these days, it's everywhere and in everything. And mostly it's not even real sugar, but high glucose corn syrup which has more impact on the blood sugar level.

With heating, she eats everything and always has second helpings. I 'm not sure what is normal for a 7 year old, but I find it a difficult situation to tell a child that age to stop eating... what if her body needs it?

I can give you some tips, if she carves for sugar, add some more broccoli on her launch or dinner ,( contains chromium which it drops a lot the sugar carvings ) Also don't skip the fats from her diet, nuts, olives, even you can made her some tahini with cacao for a nice snack full of healthy fats!
Just remember the golden rule is eat as much as you like high protein/high carbs low fats or high protein/high fats low carbs . per meal

Interesting, thank you so much I did not know these rules!

you are very welcome! :)

I think it is really sad that todays children are really stripped off their childhood and have to try to be the better adults...I just remember the times when you were just an innocent child until at least 14 :-/

Me too! I wasn't thinking abut my body for anything but playing, climbing and sport up until about that age! Kids are bombarded and sexualized younger now than ever before. I can't get over how short girls wear their short now. Mine used to go to my knees! Clothes were more based on protection while climbing trees and running through the bushes playing cops and robbers!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.34 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 27 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85