From the Root to the Fruit - What Do You Plant in Your Life's Garden?

in #life7 years ago

These gem squash come from a very special garden. I helped plant them in one of our test patches with the [Earth Haven Project}(www.patreon.com/earthhaven) a pilot project creating a sustainable community.

My favourite parts about the garden? First of all it is helping to feed local impoverished people, giving them nutritious foods they don't normally have access to. Secondly: the garden is fenced in with a cloth fence. Once we are done, we'll remove the fence to let the wild animals in so that they can also eat, and in so doing, help us prepare for our second planting!


This is how we consider the whole - not just our community - because our version of sustainability includes everyone, the way it should be!

This particular squash will be added to the soup you see behind me. I am making a meal plan for someone with a special diet in an attempt to rebalance his body in his late years. The scraps from the soup go to the free-range chickens, providing them with a nice treat and giving us delicious eggs in return.

Every part of this cycle involves CARE, something I would like to see more of in this world. The best way to see it, is to be it. Be the change you want to see - this applies now more than Ever.

Support Earth Haven, help us bring care back. www.patreon.com/earthhaven

#EarthHaven #sustainability #eatlocal #CommunityLiving #SharingIsCaring

Sort:  

Purple hull peas!

They grow like weeds here in southern texas, and they taste great, even green.

I plant papaya trees. for the smooth disposal, and I have to admit you post fruit fruit that is very useful for the health of us all

thanks

Great contribution mam:

My favourite parts about the garden? First of all it is helping to feed local impoverished people, giving them nutritious foods they don't normally have access to. Secondly: the garden is fenced in with a cloth fence. Once we are done, we'll remove the fence to let the wild animals in so that they can also eat, and in so doing, help us prepare for our second planting!

There is a deep interconnectedness of all life on earth, from the tiniest organisms, to the largest ecosystems, and absolutely between each person🙂

Screenshot_2018-02-17-20-20-43-52~02.png

I will plant rose in my life's garden. I'd rather have roses on my table than jewellery on my hand and neck😇

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76