AUDI'S - Let's talk about them

in #life7 years ago

12495064_10154029512124590_1023118365091933264_n (1).jpg

So I started my fascination with cars at an early age just like most boys in America. I used to see my dad work on cars and come in smelling like motor oil and gasoline. Weirdly I used to love that smell, to the point I now still oddly enjoy a small whiff of gas when I'm at the pump. It probably helps that I grew up really close to a racetrack that was active every Friday night in the summer called I-30 speedway.

So when I was 15 my dad offered me a 1989 honda accord lxi, I learned how to drive standard on that car but not before I ruined the clutch. A day later I got my intro to replacing the clutch and lowering the transmission. I was super happy to have that car, I came from a very poor family and it meant the world to me. It meant freedom and the beginning of a life without family around every corner. Self-reliance is staple of growing up where I'm from. It's where you start to make real mistakes and learn from them.

So I drive this car until I got really interested in the 1998 honda civic si. I traded my paid off car as a downpayment for a civic and drove that for about 6 months until my bank pulled a fee and my insurance wasn't able to pull out of my account. Instantly they started a repo order. I went the next year of my life hiding my car because it was all I had as I lived with friends on their couches and couldn't lose it.

One day I got a minor traffic ticket and being a good citizen went to my court date, when I returned to the parking lot the repo guys had been watching for my court date and nabbed my car. So now here I am with no car, I have to walk home from the courthouse and pay a traffic ticket when I don't even own a car anymore.

So I get a tax return a few months later and instead of investing my money into a new car I hastily spent it on a new laptop and midi controller to make music. It sounded dumb at the time but it resulted in me starting a music career that took me across the country in style playing for large nightclubs and really cool festivals. A few years after my music career slowed I found myself needing another car. This time I was convinced I wanted something cooler, so I got a day job and saved up $1,500 and went to a used car lot and picked up a 1998 acura integra, it was an automatic and I ragged that car out so fast. I payed it off and quickly moved on to an acura rsx type s with a 5 speed.

That car hit a pot hole that ended up causing it to go into the shop for 3 weeks, and when I got the car back it was totaled, the dash ripped out of it, steering wrecked, screens missing, exterior body damage you name it. Turns out the shop let an employee rag the car out and I challanged them. They said it came that way and that they took photos the day it arrived, I called the police and forced them to turn over the photos to myself and the police and take a statement.

Well, it turns out that the metadata showed that they took the photos that day and had lied to me and the police, needless to say the guy was arrested, fired, and the company cut me a check. Also Gieco cut me a check and I ended up getting this sweet 2011 audi a4 2.0 premium plus w/6 speed and sports package.

I love this car, it feels like a dream to have it and I will never buy another brand. The handling in this thing is king. I constantly hear people say audi's are bad cars but my experience has been nothing but awesome. Besides the car looks so aggressive.

Share your car stories !

Daniel Kichen

www.soundcloud.com/kichenus
www.facebook.com/imkichen

Sort:  

Such nice cars.

Audi's are my favorite car it has better handling, smoother, and looks better then the benz. It's a really reliable car if you always take care of it. It's people that don't take care of it and let the Cadillac converter go. When that goes that's when you run into big problems. Great post 🙏

absolutely, I had a recall on mine and had it replaced in the first week by the dealership. Other than that it just guzzles a little oil, but the turbo does that I'm sure.

Ya man just make sure you get your scheduled oil changes and that car will keep on beasting. 🙏 What you wanna upgrade to next?

I really like the tt rs, but I will more than likely end up with an audi s4. Natural progression you know.

If your going to get the tt you might as well get the r8 instead. I'm telling you it's worth it 🙏

Upvoted!
I am a VW Fanatic and in general German Car lover. I have a B7 A4 and a MK5 GTI right now. Both of which are awesome cars. I agree with you about the handling, and really just the sporty feel they give while driving.
But I will warn you DO YOUR SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE!!
If you don't you will probably find out why people have so much hate towards these cars. They are expensive to repair, hell even the services are a little pricey.
Great read and thanks for sharing. Good to know there are other VAG lovers out there! (Volkswagen Auto Group)

EDIT: I also run a German Car Club in this area, we have just over 900 members as I type this. ;)

I almost got the mk5 gti but the audi just felt like a straight mobster car with an attitude. Yeah I'm actually do for a scheduled maintenance right now, or you know the warning 2k from the actual limit.

SQ5 is my dream car. Upvote me so I can afford it lmao :,( jokes

They seem (the Germans) to have it all so right. Motorcycles and cars. Audi's are great cars to drive. I had 4.5l six series coupe for 10 years and previously two 3 series. All awesome. The current 3 series estate is not as good ( its juts not got character and the turing circle is v poor) as an Audi estate so mistake on my part. If Audi's did motorcycles then this would be a choice too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74