XMAS XTAC

in #life8 years ago (edited)

This is a confession of an event that may, or may not have happened! Just saying it that way as an escape clause if people are going to use it against me ;)

Once a long, long time ago I was feeling down and depressed during the festive season. See, I was young, emotional, and couldn't relate much to the joys of the season. I can be social but I just couldn't genuinely feel the connection, which somehow made me feel sad. It didn't help that I'm irreligious too.

So I popped half an MDMA, and guess what happened? I called every freaking friend in my phonelist to wish them a Merry Christmas! Probably close to 100 people. I even ended up in some barbecue party, and I genuinely had a great time, even though I was under the substance. It's not a bad thing, just unnecessary. Maybe.

Much has changed since then. I've mastered my mind in the best way possible - recognizing that the ups and downs of our emotions have more to do with whatever brain juices and hormones driving the experience. Depression strikes for no good reason too. And it's actually not a bad thing. It's just something to be surpassed by understanding. Plus I'm my own person, and it's not a prerequisite for me to feel like I have to belong anywhere.

So yes, I still don't couldn't much relate to such traditions (even Lunar New Year, which is more of a thing for my ethnicity). But I'm happy that people are putting in the time and effort to get together, which is really the spirit of all social festivities.

So Steemians, stay safe and Happy Holidays!


If forward-thinking stuff with a dash of everyday slice-of-life is your cup of tea, follow me @kevinwong

Sort:  

Hi kevin, it's not Christmas here where I am yet, a couple of hours to go. But I wish you all the best for the New Year coming up. I think we're going to hit it out of the ballpark!

Thanks @onceuponatime :)
Very tumultuous, but awesome year :) Next will be more interesting!

lmao... lovely night

Merry Christmas homie...

Great story... I really do miss them days tho

It was a lovely night haha. Best thing is no one knew, I just looked like the normal me :p
Merry xmas buddy :)

So since we are confessing things @kevinwong, I once may or may not have sat on Santa's lap and told him what I wanted for Christmas...Only thing was, I was a grown man..."Allegedly" lol

Lol it depends what you wanted! haha

Well...Santa may, or may not, have sworn me to secrecy...lol...But seriously, what I can say @kevinwong, Is for you and your family to have a very Merry Christmas Bro!!! Take care:)

LOL! That bling is dope. Merry xmas, have a good one with friends and family :)

Yeah, it was my Christmas present to myself!

Merry Christmas @kevinwong :-)

Same 2 u @lichtblick have a good one :)

Thank you. I am coming from a really good lunch time :-) Mission acomplished.

Merry Christmas man, have a great day!

Yo, merry xmas to you too!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.66 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 25 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Happy Holidays to you too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49