You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 20 questions with Richard Millington (Exclusive Steemit Interview)

in #life7 years ago

Great interview and truly coming from someone who has been dealing with online communities since forever. In fact, I've been feeling that lately - out of sync with the Steemit "movement". Maybe it's a good thing since the community is taking on a life of its own, but I think there still needs to be some core story / movement that makes it spark. Many good points to consider here, even for my own account :)

Sort:  

Thanks for suggesting I reach out to Richard! This particular line was a powerful one for me:

"The only people really in the community are those who believe they are."

I think there are a ton of takeaways in Richard's answers.

Yeah great quote there, and very true. In fact, I think one of the best ways is to talk about steem / steemit in posts and discussions lol even though that's somewhat frowned upon. I guess some of us just want to feel like we're somewhat involved with the platform's development.

I totally agree on the advocacy part. I mean Facebook started out as a particular niche and close community: Harvard students. Only once the community garner sufficient support then can it grow and extend its reach. I feel that Steemit community cater largely to people interested in cryptocurrencies and in order to grow beyond just the crypto space, we definitely need to bring on people with interesting stories to share. Example: music, art, scientific, etc.

Focusing solely on financial reward will kill any movement in the long run. So, spread the word and steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45