Only In Cryptoland: On Zcash, Steem, and Uncertainty

in #life8 years ago (edited)


3000 Bitcoins / Zcash sold on Poloniex.

Yes, only in Cryptoland.

Where else in the world will you see assets sprouting into life, entering the market, and be bestowed monetary value, almost instantly? The first Zcash entered Cryptoland a few hours ago. It went on to be bought and sold at insanely high prices, for a while. It's almost like a joke. Maybe Satoshi's having some fun.

Makes my head spin thinking about the value of things.

So why is Zcash such a big deal? Here's what it says on their website:-

If Bitcoin is like http for money, Zcash is https. Zcash offers total payment confidentiality, while still maintaining a decentralized network using a public blockchain. Unlike Bitcoin, Zcash transactions can be shielded to hide the sender, recipient, and value of all transactions on the blockchain.

Does that give you a good idea on a fair price? Nope. Fair price fluctuates according to market supply and demand, or forced by strong hands.

So what about Steem price?

Who are the ones with strong hands? Will you continue posting on Steemit, even for peanuts worth of Steem? The payoff will be huge even if Steem becomes only 0.2% of Facebook's size. But are you crazy enough to earn useless points? Do you play video games? World of Warcraft? Farmville?

Uncertainty City.

That's how our world operates these days - speculation and uncertainty. The extra money that we earn - most of us don't know what to do with it, so we just hedge them everywhere. And the banks take our money. Turns out, the banks too, don't know what to do with the money.

So the banks play with your money, hedging them into all sorts of pools around the world. The same goes for governments. Just about everyone. There are no goals in sight, and everything is about value maximization against.. uncertainty. What has the world come to?

Is this the work of logic? What about intuition? One of my best friends once wrote:-

In this information era, together with cost-benefit analyses, reasoning / thinking skills, rationalization, pro-con, advantage-disadvantage, you get it - we have allowed the world to dictate how we make choices. After all, we are humans. We have the ability to think. Use it. (Or perhaps by virtue of letting other people telling us to and how to use it, we are not using it?)

So what about certainty?

Have you tried using other cryptos before? There's really nothing like Steem / Steemit in Cryptoland. Can you feel it? Not everything is about game theories and logic. Have some faith in what you do. That may make all the difference.

PS: Know the estimated account value in your wallet? Maybe there should be another estimated value which is based on a hypothetical, higher Steem value. Maybe $2.00 / Steem. I think this addition will be good for perspective. And, stop dumping lol!



Follow me @kevinwong

Sort:  

The lower it goes the more it will transfer into Strong hands from which it will have nowhere to go but up.

I was hoping for an answer. Sounds good to me :)

perfect comment this is

Entirely that, more skin in the game will only occur at a fair valuation.

So glad you're alive, Dan. We were going to put out a search party and demand proof of life soon. ;)

Since I got into all this with Bitcoin in 2011 and later DOGE more or less, I always said that the crypto with a reason behind it will be the one ones that really make it. With Steem and Steemit there seems to be something there, and more getting created based on it everyday.

I'm relatively new, only got serious into cryptos since Ethereum. I think Steem has good ingredients, and it bootstraps just about anything at the same time. Perhaps there is a too-far-and-wide problem here. Maybe not. Very interesting times :)

It seems like they all say the same stuff; were the future of money - secure, anonymous transactions - we're not bitcoin... Steemit and Steem, and the creators stepped up and made something usable and worthwhile. If nothing more than eyeballs looking at the screen, which in internet terms is better than money :)

STEEM & SBD are my very first ventures into cryptocurrency. Since then I've been researching others. My gosh, there are entire worlds of possibilities with this stuff. Maybe too much for my middle-aged brain to handle. LOL
I kind of joke that I'm at the point where if I learn something new, an old memory's got to go. It was nice knowing my kids. hahahaaaaa

It's the wild wild west, but programmable currency is extremely awesome. Seeing that cryptos are less than 1% of forex market, gonna be an interesting time to see the flood in the next few years ;)

meh. it's just a group of people buying and selling among themselves to pump the ZEC price. I feel sorry for the fools though, who are really buying a fraction of ZEC for thousand of dollars.

Lol i wonder who'll join. Bet it's tempting for high-stakes folks though. Just for the kicks :)

That's crazy. So far I have mined 0.01 ZEC so that should be worth 30 Bitcoins. If only it weren't the usual exchange shenanigans!

I think it's most likely the same person.. or just a troll who started a gamblin' bout that high-stake cryptofolks just joined for fun (or it might've spiralled out of control!). Don't think it'll be higher than btc in a month.. I wonder how the price got so crazy. Limited edition doesn't mean much in cryptoland..

You are probably right. I have seen these initial crazy prices on a lot of coins. I think sometimes they are designed to skew the price averages. It is definitely like gambling though!

The crazy price is is just a reflection of human irrationality - there has been so much hysteria over Zcash - some of us have been hearing about it since early 2014.

Even then it was being heralded as the next big thing to take over from BTC - I am rather more reserved though.

Have seen it all before. Will be fun to watch though.

I like this, I think you've provided me with enough inspiration to write another post. Thanks @kevinwong

The dynamics that went behind this crazy zcash chapter are absolutely insane but incredibly interesting.

Thanks for sharing your perspective :P

IMO Zcash is a pretty big deal though, I was writing about a zero knowledge society when this currency was flying underneath my radar.. but i dare not touch for the moment lol. After BTC, ETH, and STEEM, I think people are just jumping on the next hot thang. :)

Zero knowledge societies scare the crap out of me. The consensus at the moment is the utopian side if the coin. There is however a dystopian side, enabling some kind of super dictator.

But hey, maybe I've read a little too much sci-fi! :P

I like to use a combination strategy with STEEM. Keep the STEEM and power up for the long run and keep community invested, trade the SBD for BTC to reap immediate benefits. Hey, those BTC are "free".

I really don't think too many cryptos can outdo BTC. They might serve specific purposes but BTC pretty much will be the currency of the future. STEEM will be very functional and useful in social media that imparts lasting value, but I doubt it will be as fungible as BTC. Most cryptos are just fads for hardcore traders. Look at Doge, Maxcoin, and so on. Never did much of anything.

Yeah I have to admit back then when I tried SBD --> BTC, it felt quite magical lol. Not too sure about BTC, I never really held onto it before. I think the energy requirement to upkeep that is simple inelegant and wasteful. But again, that's its strength. Maybe it'll stay well as an asset, but not for high-frequency/speed transfers.

It's down to just above 8 BTC now. Crazy shiatzuuu. Dafuq is goeehn oooohn? I've never seen anything like it before, and it's quite fun to be able to say that. Dayum, son! I'm shocked!

Brave new world of cryptos. Value is highly subjective! lol

Note though that I don't think it was a full zcash coin that was purchased with 3000 btc. :P

Oh and also something funny I noticed just now in the pool I am in. Someone found a block really early before anyone else had submitted any shares and received the full block reward himself. Pretty crazy. :)

Haha yeap, it was just at fractions of 1 unit of Zcash. Just being sensational :)

Wow.. nice loot! Must've maxed out their computing power..

I will be posting purely to accumulate steem power for the future. I know what it means to be an early adopter.

All the best! I'm playing it like a video game.. tbh lol

Great post @kevinwong! I agree completely! I think one day Steem will rise again... hopefully with a much stronger base this next time! :)

There will be ups and downs, hopefully strengthening after each cycle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29