Time to get up yet???steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

This morning I had a lie in.

Until the dogs decided that it was time to get up.

The usual routine is that I make some magical move that instantly energises the mutts.

Charlie attacks either me or Jeb, or, both of us. Ellie wanders up the bed then climbs on top of me, trying to crush the air out of my chest, then rolls onto her side and growls, thumping me until I give her a back rub.

At some stage Charlie will do something that deserves being snapped at.

By now, I am fully awake but pinned to the bed, Ellie on my chest, Jeb crushing the family jewels and Charlie bouncing up and down me, from head to foot.

When I admit defeat, that's when the excitement really starts.

Ellie begins barking at nothing in particular, Charlie jumps off the bed, only to realise that he isn't tethered, so jumps back up so that he can jump off again and Jeb.

Well, Jeb starts singing.

When I am trying to put on my socks and boots, Charlie wants to help, Ellie is still barking and Jeb thinks that singing directly into my ear will speed things up.

By the time I get up off the bed, ready to go out, it's pandemonium. Jeb is now screaming his latest song while bouncing around the bed, Charlie is begging me to pick him up and throw him on the bed and Ellie is now in threatening growl mode, tail wagging furiously.

It's worse in inclement weather, when I need to put on an overcoat, but these days it's warm enough not to worry.

I slide the bolt on the door and three dogs try to exit at the same time.

Unless I tell Jeb to sit and stay.

Then, three dogs try to exti at the same time!

Once we are out, Jeb is off, Charlie is having a pee, or trying to chase Jeb and Ellie is checking the goats.

Jeb comes back, Charlie still wants to chase and Ellie needs to decide if she is coming for a walk or staying with her charges.

That's the usual start to the day.

Today was the first day of milking.

Audrey was no problem, the kids had been separated for the night and she was well stocked with milk. Job done and she is out to pasture. Little'un on the other hand, constant crying to the kids, putting her foot in the pail of milk, kicking over the pail of milk, putting both feet in the pail of milk.

Needless to say, today's milking did not go well.

Maybe tomorrow will be a new day, after all, no point in crying over spilt milk!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65