Eating a THOUSAND YEAR EGG For the First Time!

in #life6 years ago


Hello Steem Blockchain!

In today's episode, I show you this strange thing we call a "century egg", "hundred year egg" or "thousand year egg". Don't worry, it isn't actually 1000 years old, but the flavour may make you reminisce of the "good old days." Back when we had no electricity, refrigerators and all that.

In Chinese, this is called “皮蛋”, a type of preserved egg. It is made by soaking uncooked eggs in some kind of solution of calcium hydroxide, table salt and calcium carbonate. The process makes an egg that looks like this:

century-egg-皮蛋-pidan-preserved-egg-hundred-year-egg-thousand-year-egg-720x480.jpg
Source


I have lived in China for over 3 years and never decided to taste these things until now!

The smell is really earthy. It smells like a building material. When I cut it up into pieces and put it into a small bowl, it looked like this:

century egg bowl.jpg

The taste is really earthy. It tastes like I'm eating a putrid egg mixed with stones. The stone taste just doesn't sit well with me. In my opinion, it's quite bad. Surprisingly, many Chinese people do like to eat this egg. They usually mix it with rice or some kind of porridge. Eating it on its own might be too strong for them as well. I guess it is like Vegemite of mayonnaise: good in small doses with something, awful when eaten alone.

Check out this video to see my reaction to this century egg challenge!

Thanks for reading & watching!

Kenan.png

Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

lol I love how you describe it, tastes like a putrid egg mixed with stones. Sounds delicoius where do I get one lol

Lmao. It's true. You might find them at an Asian/Chinese supermarket. Give it a shot!
The Steem websites were acting weird for me. I wanted to upload a DTube video but when I clicked "Submit", nothing happened. I clicked it a few times and got Unknown Error but once I was able to check my account, I noticed that it posted my video twice. Busy and Steemit were both super slow and unresponsive but I think everything is fine now.

yeah things have been a bit glitchy lately, I was having trouble upvoting people, almost had a double post but caught it quickly and x'ed out, but yeah steemits been a little wonky lately

Whao thats great idea for preserving egg but wonder how long it will stay with this method of preservation and won't the egg lose it savour?

That's a really good question. I actually don't know how long they will last. I can't seem to find an answer anywhere.

KenanQHD vs Century Egg

This post has received a 5.93 % upvote from @boomerang.

Not sure why but Steemit won't let me upvote this post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45