How to Upload DTube Videos From China! (Slow Internet Speed...)

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Hello Steem Blockchain!

As some of you already know, I live in China. This is an awesome country but one thing that really irks me is the internet speed. What I am fortunate for is that DTube is NOT blocked by the Great Firewall. I can access DTube without a VPN.

However, one problem you might have if you are located in China (or have a slow internet connection) is that it will take a reeeeally long time to upload normal sized videos.

In this video, I want to show you how you can save a whole lot of time (and fits of rage) by following the steps outlined in the video. I cannot tell you how many times I tried to upload a video (around 1GB in size) and 80% of the way, the progress bar magically disappears. I can't tell you how many times I tried to submit, only to get "IPFS error."

Some videos I tried over 5 times to submit. I started in the morning and it wasn't until the late afternoon or evening that I finally got it all uploaded.

This video will save your life.

Here's what you need to do.

  1. Download HandBrake. It is a free open source software that reduces your file size.
  2. In Handbrake, select 480p so that you can scale it down to a smaller size.

On DTube, all videos are encoded to 480p after you upload them so why waste hours of your day uploading a file over 1GB at 1080p when it'll get encoded to 480p after?

Instead, get it down to 480p using HandBrake because it doesn't require uploading with an internet connection. After you have done that, you can take a 1.23GB file and reduce it to 52MB. This will save your life.

Upload it to DTube and you will thank me later. It is probable you will run into some errors uploading, and you don't want to have that happen to you after waiting over an hour to get to 80%.

Hope this helps!

Kenan.png

Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thanks for this!

Our upload servers are in Europe/US and yeah, if your connection breaks for a few seconds, it will consider that you closed the upload and stop processing it! This is an issue mostly on our side, we wish to have something running in Asia to reduce latency and this problem

Thank you so much for commenting and upvoting. I think a "Pending Uploads" option would be useful. For example, if I click I on my channel, I would be able to see videos that have not finished uploading (and could resume uploading). Instead, my upload seems to just disappear 100% without a trace. I hope this could be implemented.

Thank you for considering running servers in Asia, that would help a lot!

Well we cannot do a feature like that, DTube doesn't work like YouTube.

You actually don't need to go through our servers to upload, if you have IPFS on your PC (which should work in China as well). Here is a tutorial you can follow:

Wow, thank you so much. I will be definitely trying this on my future videos. Seems much faster to upload.

Thanks again

So is there plans for higher quality videos in the future? the ability to have 1080p and 4k would be awesome

Loading...

Great post cheers from Australia..

good post . from this post the problem of uplaoding is solved

thanks for sharing this information @kenanqhd
kindly upvote me m new here :)

thanks am having this problem too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48