Follow Me in Beijing: Jingshan Park <> The Best View of the Forbidden City

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steem Blockchain!

forbidden city.jpg

This photo was taken in Beijing in a place called Jingshan Park. The air pollution that day wasn't too great, but at least it created an awesome effect when taking photos from a high vantage point. I was travelling in Beijing and my girlfriend told me about this park. I was excited to go because she told me about how I could oversee the entire Forbidden City. I have already been inside the Forbidden City a couple years ago, but I never knew where you could actually get this stunning view!

Thousands of people visit the Forbidden City in Beijing every single day. The crowds are astounding. Don't believe me? Check this out:

forbidden city crowd.jpg

How long can it take you to find someone wearing an orange jacket?


The sign above says “故宫博物院” (Gu Gong Bo Wu Yuan), which means The Palace Museum.

Jingshan Park has a traditional Chinese feel to it. There are lots of traditional Chinese structures built around the area, and the landscape contains many bushes, trees and flowers.

bamboo.jpg

A nice place to spend an afternoon, in my opinion. What's more is that this park actually has somewhat of a dark history.

The last emperor of the Ming Dynasty, Chongzhen, committed suicide by supposedly hanging himself from one of the trees at this park. This was due to the Shun rebels taking control of Beijing, thereby ending the Ming Dynasty and birthing the Shun Dynasty, led by Li Zicheng. Emperor Chongzhen's (translated) suicide note read:

"I die unable to face my ancestors in the underworld, dejected and ashamed. May the rebels dismember my corpse and slaughter my officials, but let them not despoil the imperial tombs nor harm a single one of our people."

suicide.jpg

The entrance of Jingshan Park has scenic paths that people can walk on upon entering. The park is quite popular and is right in the downtown core of Beijing, but the environment itself is quite serene and peaceful. Most people are eager to hike up the mountain to get a glimpse of the Forbidden City and Beijing cityscape, just like I was.

people.jpg

The hike took about 30 minutes or so to reach the pavilion. It was an exciting and rewarding experience to finally make our way to the top and stand among dozens of other people at any given time taking photos and selfies of themselves with the Forbidden City in the background.


Check out this video of the entire hike!


I personally loved the architecture and style of the structures that we saw on our way to the top. Like this structure here:

Untitled design.jpg

As an engineer, I am amazed by the design of these buildings. I love the intertwined network of wooden beams that constitute the roof and how these buildings have withstood the test of time. Sure, they have been repainted, but the foundation is still strong to this day.

The top of Jingshan Park has a wonderful pavilion that houses a big Buddha statue. Photos of the interior are prohibited, however I think it is needless to say that grand appearance of the exterior is simply admirable.

pavilion.jpg

It was difficult to maneuver around the top because of the sheer number of people, but thankfully I was able to find some sweet spots to shoot my photos and videos. The view of the Forbidden City was definitely a sight to see.

foribbden city (no logo).jpg

It was a little difficult to see the whole city, due to the air pollution, but I am still happy with the photos nonetheless.

side view.jpg

The left side of the Forbidden City

What was also great about this mountain was that I could also capture photos of the surrounding cityscape as well! The top of the mountain is situated in the heart of Beijing, thereby allowing me to get a full 360 degrees of photos!

cityscape.jpg

On the opposing side of the Forbidden City, is something called the Drum Tower or Gu Lou in Chinese. This structure was initially built for musical reasons but is now dormant and used as a tourist attraction.

drum tower.jpg

The Drum Tower is the red building further away from where I was standing

And finally, there was a photo service being offered for 35 RMB ($5.45 USD) that allowed us to dress up in a traditional costume mimicking a Chinese emperor. I have previously written about this in another post. We saw the crowd of people waiting to have their photo taken and decided we should do the same. It is one of the highlights of this trip!

costume.jpg

I finally got to have my photo taken and I was quite pleased with the outcome!

emperor.jpg

The words above read (from left to right): 正大光明 (Zheng Da Guang Ming) which means Just and Honourable.

That's all for now folks! It was an afternoon well spent in Jingshan Park. On previous trips to Beijing, I never knew about this place but that is why I need to stress the importance of finding a local Chinese person to help you with travelling. They can often let you know of all the different attractions and if they are a seasoned local in the city you travel in, they will know some special places that aren't on most tourist itineraries!

Thank you for reading!

Kenan.png

Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD

Sort:  

Great writeup and beautiful photos. I love the head image of the Forbidden City, sad to see the haze though. I'm seeing you turn into a second 大山, you know this well-known Canadian expat living in China? ;)

Hahah, I heard about 大山 after coming to China. I don't think any Canadians know who he is lol. My problem is that I never have the motivation to learn more Chinese at a fast pace. When I started learning, I was learning so quickly but eventually I plateaued after reaching enough fluency to get by in day to day life. It is difficult for me to sit down and learn more words. That is why singing songs helps because it is one way I enjoy to learn without focusing on learning.

Same here. I learned a bit Dutch, French and Spanish when I was living in Europe and Latin America, and I used to learn German in university. There's always the plateau at some stage("瓶颈" in Chinese, literally means "bottleneck"), so I usually stop at the survival level, which is enough to get me food(most vital) and transportation. ;) And you are right that singing songs helps a lot in learning a language!

kenan bro, it doesn't look like forbidden any more:) Kiddin..
Great content. sad to see the pollution levels in such a place but anyway the enrgy levels over there must be different i mean more positive compare to other european or American towns or cities. or am i wrong? is it just an overcrowded tourist attraction?

Lol, good one!

The energy demand is massive during the winter. China mainly uses coal plants to heat homes and generate electricity. This is changed in recent months. Actually, the government has this "War on Pollution" initiative going and and it seems it is working. They shut down a lot of the polluting factories so that air quality has been improving.

Personally speaking, I really like Beijing. Before coming to China, I thought Beijing was just an overcrowded, dirty place. I was wrong. It's actually a really cool city. I wouldn't mind living there actually. The population is massive, but it doesn't feel that way most of the time. I feels as crowded as any other big city in the world. However, when you are not in the downtown, you don't even see that many people.

China creates a lot of pollution, but what most people don't know is that they are the biggest producers of renewable energy as well. Most homes use solar panels to power the water heaters in their apartments. Wind and solar power are pretty common over here, it's just that coal is used for a lot of the factories still due to it being inexpensive.

your post really give me full appreciate for my steemit work.forbidden city all photo very nice.i am daily reader of your blog.because i am alot of new thing learning of your post.this life story really good.thank u very much for ur good post sharing of your blog.. @kenanqhd

Thank you @timuann. I appreciate you taking the time to read my blogs!

thank u.i am very fan of ur blog... @kenanqhd

Hey dear @kenanqhd
I'm sorry to comment on this blog.
Very good article and wonderful photos.
The forbidden city is really a beautiful city. Jingshan Park is a wonderfull. . Excellent environment. . Your post always gives us the joy of our steemians. . Thank You

I'm sorry to comment on this blog.

You shouldn't be sorry haha. Commenting is encouraged as long as your comment is relevant. I appreciate your comment. Thank you so much, my friend.

The forbidden city and jingshan are both awesome. Thanks for checking it out

This post has received a 1.45% upvote from thanks to: @kenanqhd.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.010 SBD|STEEM to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount

Thank you for collaborating with me to promote this post as explained at https://steemit.com/steemit/@jerrybanfield/10-ways-to-fund-a-steem-growth-project.

You got a 2.14% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @kenanqhd!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale & @ipromote team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-02-26-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58387.03
ETH 2359.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37