HOW TO SET GOALS : a hidden truth

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Every January of a new year, we all have to get that special book where we put down stuffs we need to accomplish before the end of the year. Yes! I always call that scribbled words on a sheet of paper GOALS.
To me personally, I've been doing this repeatedly for years now. All I do is; write down the goals, dump the book somewhere and by the end of the year I may or may not even go back to check if I have accomplished my goals for that year. This has always been the trend in my life. I discovered that I wasn't making much progress and that I kept on setting the same goal year in year out.

Screenshot_20180123-001256.png
I was just in a static position not knowing what to do or what effort to make and was at the same time scared of setting bigger goals. Not until last Sunday when I sat under the ministration of pastor David Onuoha that I got to know how to really set goals and accomplish them.

Screenshot_20180123-001723.png
This is what I learnt from that message which was so mind blowing.

Before any goal is set, you must first know what you want from life and God's purpose for you life.
Using the UHS tool(Utensil, Heating device and Solvent) will be good starting point for goal setting.

Utensil : documentation materials
Heating device : a current calender
Solvent : a thinking, scerene and working mind.
Generalized method of setting goals makes it look ambiguous and most times scary. That's why in setting goals, you must break it down to specific areas of your life.
For example, marital issues, personal development, business expansion goals etc.

Also, goal setting requires you defining the expectation for each of the specific goals and the destination.
Ensure to put a time frame on each goal because every goal that is timeless is just a mere wish.

Finally, the most important thing about goal setting is having a systematic course of action otherwise called PLAN.
Having a strategic plan on each goal and a laid out approach will help achieve that goal ASAP.

After hearing this, it was like a piece of puzzle that was missing has just been fixed and immediately I got home, I had to fetch my journal and I set my goals for 2018 all over again but this time around, I drew out a working plan on how to achieve all of it.

Yeah, this is what I've actually been ignorant of for years but am happy it's not too late.

To my steeemit friends and all steemians, I hope this post will be of great help and safe as a guideline in setting bigger goals this new year and working towards accomplishing them.

Thanks for all your upvotes and comments.

Sort:  

nothing feels good like saying someone's mind in such a way that it compels the person to answer positive to every question

Am glad to meet you a fellow Nigerian @kelseyimoh on the steemit platform
You have my upvote and keep sharing your thoughts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
SBD 2.55