5 Daily Things I Do To Help With Adhd / Getting Distracted

in #life5 years ago (edited)

14420266107_2f384e392c_b.jpg

We all at some point throughout the day become distracted. Personally, getting distracted is my biggest obstetrical when it comes to anything. Here are a few things that I do daily to help me stay on task.

"Junk Drawer"

I constantly lose my keys, phone, and wallet due to them being scattered around the room. I used to be playing ISPY with my subconscious daily and couldn't handle it. I tried buying one of those squares to chime my keys but, it stopped working. Now, I have a little wooden box that I made to throw my items in as soon as I walk in the door. Placement is key.

Routine

This is by far the most important one for myself. I need to everyday wake up, take a shower, check stock/crypto, brush teeth, hair etc.... If for some reason I don't take a shower, my whole day feels off and it's hard to do originally what I wanted. If you can go to bed and wake up the next morning knowing whats going to happen for the first 2 hours, it makes it a lot less stressful and seamless.

Planner

My mother used to always carry around this thiccc leather planner around with her calendar + various files. Once college came around, it was a must. I need it to be in paper because if it is on my phone it will never be checked on or added to.

Spotless Desk

Although my room may be messy, my desk is always spotless. I am unable to work or focus on anything if it is not organized or wiped down. This way I can look at my monitor without having anything to obstruct my focus.

Unable to Focus

If for some reason there is nothing I can do to stay focused there are only 2 things that work for me. I love to go on walks because I don't feel trapped in a room with all types of pressure. The other one is a last resort and it's a nap. I hate naps because I can never wake up and it turns into an 8 hour nap.

These are all very simple tasks that do not require much time nor effort and have saved me countless of hours in the long run.

-Cody

Sort:  

totally unrelated to the content...

It seems you've added the tags #actifit and #share2steem manually here while posting from steemit.com, probably because you saw them being quite popular?! These tags are actually used by their respective dedicated apps and adding them manually does not have any effect (afaik).

In contrast to your desk (finally some relation to your post) Steem can be a pretty confusing mess and it's almost impossible to comb through, but there's a few great communities specifically designated to help beginners on the platform. You may want to checkout @steemterminal and @heyhaveyamet (and their discord!!) to get acquainted with everything and a bunch of lovely peeps.

Thank you so much for the help. I'm not used to such a warm welcome on a platform and I really appreciate it. I've seen a lot of your posts and am grateful you found mine. Slowly but surely I'll get the hang of it.

Thank you,
Cody

It's my little cuddly stray @steemkitten that found you actually. I check on where she roams around every now and then.

Glad I could provide you with a welcoming experience here :D

@fraenk thanks for the mention and Cody @keepitminimal we love to have you so here is a invite to our steemterminal
https://discord.gg/pmuV6G
See you soon
Britt

Congratulations @keepitminimal! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54819.76
ETH 2295.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31