The Air in Which I Stand

in #life6 years ago (edited)

The Air in Which I Stand

dark-night-person-32237.jpg
image

I remember, standing at the porch watching the beautiful sky that night, it had been a while. The world felt the same, unchanged, unaffected. The tree-line and angle that gave the best view of the constellations - all in the exact same spot.

But that evening, nothing was the same. The breeze felt different. The very space around me palpable, as if you were the air holding me upright and brushing against my cheek was your hand caressing my face.

Yes, nothing was different in the sky above, but everything had changed within. "Why tonight? Why now?" My heart felt like it was being shred to pieces, a pain so intense, my chest might just explode. Yet I felt a vast space inside me, dancing with delight. "Am I imagining it?" I had never felt so alive. I could not contain the love that overflowed within a frame just 5 foot 4". It was too much.

Your face flashed briefly in my mind. Another reminder that I would never see that smile again. I sometimes still "see" you; in the clouds and rainbows, in the smile of a stranger's face, in every red Volvo that passes by, as if it too rose from the crash a year ago. There are times when I hear your voice, soft yet firm, assuring me at my lowest.

A form I had grown accustomed to greeting everyday, burnt to ashes. Yet you rose like a phoenix, your essence scattered across the universe. In the wind, air, stars and even the sun. With no control left to suppress it, I felt my chest burst open, my insides exposed, becoming part of the vast universe in which you and I both exist together, finally as One. I finally slept like a baby, knowing we will always meet in my dreams and walk together in waking.

I can't believe the things I've done in the five years since - setting up a company, writing books, giving talks, running workshops. It was easy with you in every building, at every counter, in every bank, at every meeting. Opening the doors, offering help for things I know nothing of, reminding me to keep moving every time I hear a crow. Why I feel like you are a cawing alarm clock I will never know, but you help me stay grounded.

You never gave me a reason to miss you, as you are closer now than ever before. Yet tonight, my heart is welling up, tears beyond my usual poised control, choked and parched with my insides in all directions - your presence too much. The entirety of a universe squeezed within a chest that can't humanly contain you. Tearing up my insides, every sinew and every bone.

I'm glad you brought me to the porch 5 years ago. Tomorrow, at the launch, you take form once again, rising from the pages of our book, for the world to read.


This was written from the writer's workout prompt #8 for a flash fiction (500 words). To find out details on this and previous exercises click here. The exercise required a dice roll and I received Death and Fear/Courage. I couldn't think of anything else, my mind went to a memory, so in truth, it is a true story, not fiction, all the way till the last paragraph and it has only been 1.5 years.

Thank you @alheath for your feedback so now you know who the narrator is, and as for the one I refer to.... I am not ready to share that with the world. Thank you The Writer's Block for this prompt that brought this experience to life, to be shared.

Through the losses we endure, none is more incomprehensible than when we no longer see, touch, feel or speak to a loved one. It is the first thing we miss about them. Blessed are those who sense them; it doesn't make it any easier though.

Much love and light.

Sort:  

This post has been selected for curation by @gmuxx and has been upvoted with the @msp-curation account, and is featured in @GMuxx's weekly fiction curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport community curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account.

Feel free to join us in the Minnow Support Palnet Discord!. For editing help and writing assistance consider joining The Writers' Block Discord server.

In so much gratitude. It really means a lot to me. Thank you @gmuxx

Hi, Nice to meet you and Upvoted you :) !
:
成大事不在于力量多少,而在能坚持多久。

This is really beautiful, and made me think of those I’ve lost who were so close they simply can’t be gone.

Thank you @jayna.

I don't think they are. I like to think Their essence is around us, like energy in a pool of universal energy...and we shall all merge on the end.

I hope it’s true, and I feel the same way. It helps to think of it that way, certainly. I often imagine my beloved cousin lingering nearby, laughing at all the things we used to laugh at together.

I think of what Dumbledore says to Harry...."Of course it's in your head. Doesn't mean it's not true".

I know what you mean about your cousin. I like the thought of him/her laughing too :)

Xx

Dropping by to say hi :) Love your writing btw. Hehe

Aww, thank you for your encouragement and stopping by @zord189, always love your visits.

Ngaw! :D Coming to BHB tomorrow?

What's BHB? Did I miss a post or announcement?

Big Hug Burger at SS15 tomorrow afternoon :D I think you did! Go check out under klangvalley

This is wonderful. You have perfectly put emotions to words. The way you have described this story is amazing. Thank you for sharing:)

Thank you dear. Xx

Lovely story, Kchitrah! So touching, and you've nailed the resolution.

Thank you @anikekirsten. Always appreciate your feedback :) xx

What a lovely piece. Thanks for sharing your deepest memories and heartfelt feelings. Your narration reminded me of someone dear who has also gone to be with the angels. Xx

Sorry to hear that dear. Bless his/her soul. May we always find the fondest memories to put a smile on our face as we carry their precious love in our hearts.

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Pain, sadness, suffering, these are usually easier to write of, for they seem to have a power to force us to find the words for expressing what we feel. The only difference between those who are swayed and permit themselves to flow with the need, is the talent each has in expressing the feelings that so often coil and twist like sharpened metal springs within us, tearing at our heart.

You are one of those with the exceptional talent for bringing it all to life for everyone to share from you.

Well done, @gmuxx were wise to choose you.

Your beautiful words humble me, and I will cherish them for years to come. Beyond sentences and communication, words have a way to find a home deep in our hearts and minds; and yours touched me in a very special way indeed.

From the depths of my heart , thank you , @arthurgrafo

I felt every word, my friend. Wow.
I'm still feeling it.

Missing you right now and wish you were online so we could hug :) so much love to you

I will take that hug.... xx

Thank you my beautiful friend.

I will take that hug.... xx

Thank you my beautiful friend.

Said it twice for extra luv! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88