How to Console A Grieving Person

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Gotcha!

american-army-back-view-356842.jpg
image

There is no right way. There are never a set of prescribed fail safe words. You could say something beautiful and end up causing someone to burst into tears, or you could say something quite blunt and honest and create a deep and impactful realisation.

I've recently been hearing news of friends losing loved ones. And like everyone else, I sit staring at the phone wondering what to say.

It's easy to type a typical response, and with some thought I could carve out a wonderful eulogy. But to what effect? Am I trying to prove how well I can wish them well, or do I actually feel their pain and offer my love and presence instead? And if I can't be there physically, in spirit at the very least.

Having been on the receiving end, you would think I could relate and say something amazing. But the truth is ...

Having been through it, I know there's nothing you can say that will truly make a difference. At least not in the first week or so. For me, perhaps a year. That is not to say that you should say nothing - that is worse!

Of all the soothing words family and friends left me, there is only one piece of advice that I either heard or read that made an impact.

"The first year is the hardest"

ball-shaped-dark-grass-121663.jpg
imaage

365 days from the day you lose your loved one, you will have your first every things, without them. Christmas, New Year, Festivals, Anniversaries and their birthday. Some may gorge deeper holes than others, but the effects nonetheless, are felt.

In the very first week of losing my Dad unexpectedly, I sometimes woke up and forgot that he wasn't around anymore. It was so painful to be reminded that I couldn't call him, or go sit with him and chat with him. Well I could, but you know what I mean.

A few years on, 5 years and 5 months later to be exact (but who's counting) I still become very sad thinking about him. I no longer miss the birthdays, festivals and anniversary wishes, but there are moments that sneak in unexpectedly - that catches you by surprise and knocks your breath out for a few seconds. As for my mother, it is still hard for her on their anniversary - having been married for that long, it is only natural.

I know I will miss him for years to come, especially on those milestone moments in our lives - weddings, childbirth achieving that one thing they know means the world to you.

The greatest lesson through it all is realising that is going to be okay. The pain, I learnt does not kill. You will survive to live a day without them. Although I did shut parts of my heart off to lessen the pain, as it turns out life finds ways to break down those walls too.

We will always feel sad and bleed a little inside. It is the human condition in us. But to realise we have MORE LOVE to share, give and expand; that is the divine in us showing just how much more there is to our hearts than the pain of heartbreak.

Appa n Me Yellowstone trip.jpg

There is a life that needs to be lived to the fullest, in living and giving our all - it is our duty to "LIVE IT, and LIVE IT WELL". That last phrase is something that truly had me arrested in my seat long after the credits rolled from the movie Me Before You. It was the ending scene too. No truer words were spoken in cinematic history.

I did lure you in here on the pretext of giving cheap advice, so let me not let you down completely. Here are a few easy tips you probably already know ...

What you can say doesn't quite matter as much as perhaps showing up. Calling. Checking up. Helping them with physical chores. But, if you are not that close, but know them in passing, another thing that truly brought comfort from all those who came by were their stories and encounters with him.

My father was unhealthily obsessed with helping people. Yes, unhealthy. No sane person gives up an entire month's salary to help a friend out overseas, when his own family wasn't exactly all that well off. He once gave our family car to someone in need. No he wasn't a saint, but he did have a big giving heart - and I am grateful for having learnt generosity from BOTH my parents.

To hear stories from people who met him was so comforting. It was like having a piece of him alive with us again. A new memory in a way. So, if you do happen to know the person who passed on, do take the time to think of a memory with the person (obviously something positive - even mischief is fine but do use some discretion here).

Heartfelt wishes and saying hello does help. A word, a hello or your heartfelt condolences from everywhere is overwhelming yes, but the outpouring of wishes does have an impact on the psyche that lets us know we are not alone. Another thing that made a difference for me was when friends would randomly call me a month or a few months later and call me out for a coffee, or even just chat on the phone. I didn't know how to reach out, in fact I never wanted to. I don't know anyone who reaches out when they are sad. We seem better equipped at remaining silent with our woes. So dropping a note, taking time to make a call, or taking them out for coffee helps reconnect with the world and the love and support that exists in it.

And finally, the simplest act of showering love from your heart silently helps. It may seem insignificant, but never underestimate the power of prayer.

Sort:  

A delicate topic handled with great skill to the extent that it serves as an excellent guideline. ;) I'm positive that many readers will benefit from this article as much as I have.

Aww, thank you @whitelite. 💝 I really appreciate your loving support in your kind words and resteeming this article.

Xx

Like you say, there is no right way. And I just want to give you a big hug while reading what you have beautifully written.

Upvoted and resteemed, babe!

Awww thank you so much @iamjadeline! That's so very kind of you.

Heartfelt Terima Kasih xx

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.
If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Wow, your father sounds just like my mom. She does the exact same kinds of things!

I love that you clarified "unhealthy."

Because it seems like a healthy and great thing to do...be generous, right? And it is, but you're right that after a certain point can be unhealthy.

My mom has given to the point where it affected her own health because she was so busy taking care of others she didn't take care of herself. She went straight from being in the hospital for a major infection/problem and was supposed to be on bed rest for a few days...

...but instead she drove a lady who couldn't drive 12 hours to go see her dying sister.

She's sweet. Your dad sounds wonderful. It's late so I'm actually going to read this post more in depth tomorrow. I only looked at some of it right now. But it's a great topic for me, because this year I have had so many people I know/love die and some of them are in my family but some of them are friends or friends families and that is ALWAYS the first question in mind "what do I say to them?"

Hey @nomadicsoul, thank you for stopping by.

I'm sorry to hear of your losses. Indeed, it has been a year or a few years of that. :( Bless their sweet souls xx

Your mom sounds like such a beautiful person! But, yes she does need to take care of herself! That 12 hour stunt is really something! Always put on your own oxygen mask first, they say, right?

You know what's funny though, I have been like my dad, and my mom too - without realising it. I was doing a lot of the same things with my time. So these days I'm learning to prioritize and pull back - let's see how it goes LOL!!

Have a good rest @nomadicsoul. I love that you are living your dream in travelling the world. Lovely to meet you xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95