You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Closing the Door on 15 Years of Veganism for my Health.

in #life7 years ago

Sorry to hear about your battles with PCOS - one of my closest friends has that and I know it can be a nightmare. I don't have PCOS but I do have endometriosis which can also be a nightmare at times with the amount of abdominal pain.

While maybe not all "vegan" food is the easiest on our digestive system, there are still plenty of foods that can actually have amazing healing properties for you. Soy is something that I think all vegans, with IBS/PCOS or not, should limit themselves to. I try to stay away from most soy based vegan products. However, the natural vegan foods this planet intended for us to eat can have amazing effects on your body. I'm sure being vegan for 15 years you know this but maybe check out some different vegan options that can positively help you! Feeding your body something that it hasn't been used to for so long might show some negative effects sooner or later. For me, having a vegan lifestyle has made all of my endo symptoms soooo much easier to tolerate and sometimes not even noticeable. Another suggestion - take a look into CBD oil and possibly mixing that into your foods or there are even topical salves for the body that can definitely help with pain relief!!!

Regardless, best of luck to healing and feeling better! :)

Sort:  

It would be easy being vegan with PCOS the issue is interstitial cystitis and IBS. Most vegetables I now cannot eat, no beans, no seeds, no nuts, grains are rough, and I can't have almost any fruits. So vegan is certainly not good for my body right now.

and believe me when I say I tried really hard for the last 2 years to stay vegan. Tried every combo I could to meet my needs and stay vegan but either my bladder was bleeding or my butt was bleeding when I made a bowel movement. I already feel better after just 5 days of this new albeit gross diet.

As long as you are feeling better and able to cope is what matters most right now! That's good to hear that you are seeing some improvement. Definitely check out some CBD products though if thats of any interest to you. It can work miracles for so many issues and could be something you might really benefit from!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44