Why Your Self Control SUCKS!

in #life7 years ago

pexels-photo-361081.jpeg

So many of us want to be successful, But So little of us do the right things to get there.
Did you have the self control to NOT click on my post? Because I used a gorgeous woman in a swimsuit as my main photo...
Hahha! Only kidding. Sort of.

Key points

  • Big intentions are worthless If they fail to bring results.
  • People have been shown in studies to overestimate their self-control ability.
  • This is a big reason people struggle to change.
  • There is a huge mismatch between desire and ability.

You shouldn't trust your Self Control

I know that I have an unyielding level of self-control. But guess what? You shouldn't trust it. I don't care if you have most self-control on the planet! Don't rely on it to accomplish your goals.

You will likely fail.
pexels-photo.jpeg

  • Self-control is a resource that can be depleted. It's like your energy for the day. I like to think that my self-control, Is based on the energy I have at the moment. You typically wake up full of energy, And you gradually start to lose energy and self-control throughout the day.

I'm so embarrassed to admit this, But when I worked my loading job for a shipping company, It was very physical. I would drip sweat loading boxes in the hot trailer. I would do this for 5 hours straight. When I got off work, I was naturally very hungry.
But I would be so tired I couldn't walk, And cooking was almost impossible for me to handle. So I'd go to Mcdonalds, And get 4-7 Egg Mcmuffins. And I would eat all of them in one sitting! That's a ridiculous amount of calories. Later on, I got obese and couldn't' figure out why, When I worked so hard at work. Once I started keeping homemade leftovers in my fridge, I lost over 40 pounds!

It saved me money! And was better for my health.

  • I own four waterbottles, I keep most of them full at all times, because I know if I owned just one, I wouldn't be motivated to continuously refill it throughout the day, As a result. I would drink less water.

You need to figure out what works best for you! Try and figure out why you have bad habits. They could stem from yourself control just being depleted!

Don't let your self-control dictate your life, Whether you have no self-control Or a lot of it. Using strategies to your advantage will help you get where you want. Make things easy for yourself.

  • Set things up, so you don't have to make many decisions throughout the day. This will help you maintain a higher level of self-control throughout the day.

I do this with my clothes. I wear T-shirts and basketball shorts everyday.
They are all black, So they always match.
I never have to decide what to wear, Other than maybe being a little picky on the T-shirt design, Because all of my clothes are the same.
Making fewer choices on what I'm going to wear, Makes it easier for me to choose other more important things in my day.
You can do this in almost every circumstance.


Thank you @elyaque for the awesome Badges!

Sort:  

You're more of a gorgeous woman than the one in your main photo, and I would have been more likely to click on your post if your pic was the main pic. :-)

I think its good to plan ahead for moments when you might not have self control. You were starving after work, then you made sure you had leftovers at home so you were less likely to be temped by those delish Egg McMuffins. Same with the water bottles, you prepare so its easy to drink a lot of water.

Even here on Steemit, one can prepare and remove temptations that might exceed one's self control. I had 500 Steem in my wallet and the price started going up. I knew I would be tempted to cash some out, grabbing a quick profit. So I took away the temptation by powering up those 500 steem. Problem solved!

Here comes the weekend with more tests of self control! Hoping we both get through it without too many regrettable lapses in judgement! :P Have a great one!!!

Woah.... What!? Kenny! That is so sweet! I don't know if I believe you on that one though ;)
Hahah! I love what you did with your Steem! I get tempted too! Especially if it rises even more!

Heheh yes! Hopefully we don't do anything bad this weekend XD!

I feel like I got a free ticket to witness an upcoming romantic project. :P

runs away

OMG XD

Best clothing idea ever? T-shirt and shorts errrr' day. "Baby cuz I'm a thug."

Lol!!! It's just so comfy, I can hike in it, Go for a bike ride. Sit at home. It just works. Screw jeans.

Love the swim-suit! OOO-LAA-LAA!

Right? I wish I had her body!
She's gorgeous!

Them legs... <3
Can you make a post about why adding pictures of sexy ladies in every post is +EV?
Haha, just kidden, it's obvious why that is. ;)
Anyway, nice post nonetheless. My personal experience with self-control: It's a sine-wave function. Modulated by a random LFO.
Sometimes it's on a great level, even over longer periods of time, sometimes it's pretty horrible. But, one thing is for certain: It fluctuates a lot.

I take it that is not you in the swim suit...so let down. LOL I too have been working on my decisions and self control.Thanks for sharing some of your insights and tricks that make life easier for you.
Cheers

LOL! Maybe one day! I need to lose another 20 pounds first ;)
Thank your comment! Good luck with your improvement.

Every body want to be succes, but some time they never find right way soon,

Agreed 100% on that one.

Awesome stuff! Resteemed!

Thank you so much :)

😉

Nice post voted and followed pls do the same

Thank you!

Take this Rose as a token of my appreciation for this post.

Aww thank you! Its very pretty :)

Glad you like it beautiful @kaylinart

nice post :)

Thank you hehehe:)

do whatever it feels like,,we all hv just one life..live it, love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58416.09
ETH 2514.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34