Why You Should NEVER Guilt Yourself!

in #life7 years ago

person-1281748_960_720.jpg

Guilt is a feeling we all sometimes have, and It creeps up on us! But is it something that can be used for good?

It takes Up Mental Space

Guilt is like being sick with something, It's stuck with you, and it sits and absorbs your whole world. How are you supposed to make yourself or the people whom you hurt feel better If you are too overwhelmed with guilt? It will distract you from your overall goals of making things right.

It Makes you feel bad about yourself!

Sometimes this is a good thing If you wrongly hurt someone else. If you didn't feel bad, it might mean that you do not care.
But when you feel bad about yourself. Like maybe you're on a diet, And you ate an extra slice of pizza, If you beat yourself up over it, Whereas, If you were to remind yourself that you can do better tomorrow, And you remember all the progress you made, You are more likely to continue with better spirits. But beating yourself up over that slice of pizza, Is just going to make you more likely to give up in the long term. It will be a type of self-sabotage. Sometimes that self sabotage is more of whatever you were guilty about in the first place.
fruit-2367029_960_720.jpg

Happiness Increases Productivity

When you are happy and feel good you are more likely to be productive. and proactive about fixing the issue you made! So don't make yourself feel extremely guilty over things, Instead address the issue!


Sort:  

oh have u already listen to the guy i mentioned in one of your last posts?
or is it just a coincidence i see here ^^

Interesting post. Well said. Up voted.

Thank you :)

Would you be a whale on porpoise? (the shirts always crack me up, and then my puns crack me up too. I'm easily amused I guess.)

Hehhe I'm glad :) I'm not sure! LOL Being a whale on steemit is a good thing! I was hoping to target anyone with a love for whales LOL

Oh the Hugh manatee.

Guilt and self-forgiveness all boils down to the person's core values. How easily we feel guilty, or let go of this guilt, highly depends on the things one put importance on. I agree on points raised, there should be a healthy balance on when to feel guilt and when to self-forgive. Too much guilt even on trivial things is obviously something that should be worked on, although 'trivial' is subjective. Zero guilt and remorse on things that are obvious acts of disservice to yourself/others is also not adviseable. Again 'obvious' is subjective.

I guess we need to find a good grasp of social responsibilities (and this includes responsibilities to yourself) to hopefully be able to have a balanced 'guilt-mentality' too.

Yes, you have to make yourself happy. Well I got that from sales. You can't make a sale with a frown on your face even from the telephone. Them customers can hear your frown from miles away. Yes the smile changes the voice. Let them hear your smile.

Exactly! Aww doing a job like that sounds hard! I love your view on that! I bet you were really successful doing that.

Actually it was hard for some of the other people in the office. Of course they didn't want to sell. Me I would be watching sales training videos and listening to sales audio. As a matter of fact I would eat lunch in my car and listen to sales audio. That worked better for me than staying in the lunch room and gossiping with the people. So yes I was successful at it. I was an AT&T information operator that sold other information if the requested information was not found. I was paid a salary and made no commission so money was not the factor to selling. I was just in it to see if I could make the sale and break some records. I was number one in the nation for 3 months straight in 2009. Alas this was LAN lines and the cell phones were taking over and my office had to close so I took retirement in 2010. Thanks for letting me relive some memories.

I think one of the best way to get over guilt is to confess...it will definitely make you more relaxed...this is where family and friends should help and support...as you mentioned I agree addressing the issue is the only way out, there is no escaping from that.

You are right about this one! Great stuff. Awesome post!

Thank you so much :)

living with guilt is like living in a cage... such an entrapment! For that reason i avoid doing anything stupid :D

Haha that's also a way to solve the issue !!

Great post @kaylinart, living life with no regrets. up voted :))

Totally agree :-p

Thank you :)

Very True @kaylinart
It's All about the Vibes... Good Vibes...
Mind over Mood and You will set yourself free.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66989.78
ETH 3524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69